Is it possible to modify my Droid so it doesnt use a data plan but just a voice plan?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by apex2001, Feb 26, 2012.

  1. apex2001
    Offline

    apex2001 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Isn't their a procedure or swaping some card out from a flip phone with just a voice plan and installing it in a smartphone?
  2. hondaguy520
    Offline

    hondaguy520 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    sw florida
    If I'm not mistaken I think Verizon requires you to have a data plan... I guess you could get the cheapest one then turn off data in the phone settings then use wifi when available

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
  3. apex2001
    Offline

    apex2001 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dosn't matter. They charge for data even if you don't use it.
  4. hondaguy520
    Offline

    hondaguy520 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    sw florida
    I know you have to have some type of plan but you can get the cheapest one if you want... you can't have no data at all and have the phone activated
    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
  5. Quicksilver7714
    Offline

    Quicksilver7714 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,444
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Sorry but if you have a smartphone on a line of service with Verizon you will be charged for a data plan regardless if you plan to use the carrier data or not.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
  6. cyborg03
    Offline

    cyborg03 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    True needed to swap a phone around till the other was replaced and as soon as I put in the numbersin. I had to change plans. both phones had data plans but they were differnet enough to warrent a change.
    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
Search tags for this page
android hack data plan
,
can i use my razr with just a voice plan
,
droid hacks to use without data plan
,
droid x 2 no data
,
droid x2 data hack
,

droid x2 no data plan

,

droid x2 without data plan

,
hack android no data plan
,
hack droid verizon to use without data plan
,
how to get data on on droid x2 without a plan
,
use htc incredible without data
,
which droid doesnt use data plan