is it me or is rom manager usless

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by chefb, Nov 30, 2010.

  1. chefb

    chefb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    I've had rom manager and rom premium but never use it. I flashed a rom but did manually when I try to do it through rom it just reboots so what's the purpose?
     
  2. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Are you using bootstrap?

    You have an X so you need it.
     
  3. chefb

    chefb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Yeah, am I supposed to go in there first? .....I'm still learning. I ask because when I flashed the rom I went into bootstap recovery and did it from there. Am I missing something? I have not done anything throuh rom yet and I payed so....just wondering.
     
  4. ScottyDsntKnow

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    I honestly never use it. I save everything to the sd card and install it from clockwork.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  5. chefb

    chefb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Buy it you mean rom?
     
  6. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rom manager isn't that usefull on a droid x or 2. I find it much more reliable to just manually do everything in cm recovery.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  7. chefb

    chefb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Well I wish I knew that before I spent money on premium
     
  8. cpjr

    cpjr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I do everything manually....so I have no need for it.
     
  9. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    It still has its uses but it also has its limitations.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  10. ScottyDsntKnow

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    I used it to put the moto keyboard on focused when I was too lazy to hunt down the zip file. To date that is my only actual use of ROM Manager. I honestly see no point for it when you can DL a big rom in like 10 seconds on FIOS and then just jump into clockwork.
     
  11. Bilgediver

    Bilgediver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    On Board a ship
    Ratings:
    +4
    I used rom manager to install clockwork recovery, that's about it lol.

    Droidforums.net appified!
     
  12. wildride89

    wildride89 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chesapeake, Va
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not to jack the thread but I just rooted and have been playing. Im interested in custom roms. I downloaded titanium backup and what should I back up? Also with the bootstrap recovery we can load it from there? Thanks in advancs