Is it a bad idea to publish my first app.

omgidfk

Reaction score
Its a tip calculator. Its not very... fancy looking or special. If you hit the calculate button with un-filled fields it crashes lol. I'm going to fix that tomorrow, but is there any negative to publishing an app? Its just so a few friends can download it to see it etc, mainly for my own personal benefit.

As you can tell by now, I'm new to the app environment. I've never published anything before and I just want to know if there will be any downsides. I plan on constantly working on this particular app, and updating it. Its sort of my learning app. As of right now its BARE-BONES, no menus, no nothing special. Just 3 fields, two buttons and it outputs some numbers on the bottom. I plan on adding tons to it over time, flashen it up, add a menu for who knows what yet.

Should I wait a bit? and if so, what should be implemented before its publish-worthy. Something else I'll probably do tomorrow before publishing it, is add a scroll bar, so you can see everything in landscape view. Also, when you hit the button calculate, to make the keyboard close automatically(That's possible, right?).

View attachment 47903

jiwengang

Reaction score
Its a tip calculator. Its not very... fancy looking or special. If you hit the calculate button with un-filled fields it crashes lol. I'm going to fix that tomorrow, but is there any negative to publishing an app? Its just so a few friends can download it to see it etc, mainly for my own personal benefit.

As you can tell by now, I'm new to the app environment. I've never published anything before and I just want to know if there will be any downsides. I plan on constantly working on this particular app, and updating it. Its sort of my learning app. As of right now its BARE-BONES, no menus, no nothing special. Just 3 fields, two buttons and it outputs some numbers on the bottom. I plan on adding tons to it over time, flashen it up, add a menu for who knows what yet.