is anyone else trying out the Milestone Overclock app?

Discussion in 'Sourcery ROM' started by neilrl79, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. neilrl79
    Offline

    neilrl79 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cecil County MD
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/cyanogenmod/107143-tut-milestone-oc-application-tut.html

    I was just wondering if anyone is using this Milestone Overclock app? After reading the thread above I was curious how it worked and decided to give it a shot. If you are using it
    I'd like to know how it's working out for you.


    To get it to work on Sourcery I had to flash the stock CM6.1 kernel (there's a link in original thread) and edit the build.prop so the phone model shows as "Droid" and not "Sourcery" but after that it's pretty easy. Seems to work pretty good to me.
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 17, 2011
  2. neilrl79
    Offline

    neilrl79 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cecil County MD
    I'm surprised that no one else is jumping on this, you can overclock your droid to varrying degrees wthout having to flash different kernels. And ,at least on my phone, it's super stable and running relatively cool @1.2ghz.
  3. T-Dev
    Offline

    T-Dev New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Neil
    what is different in this app vs setCPU or CPU boost> both of those let you clock the kernel however you wish and you dont have to do mod anythign to make it work.
  4. dmacleo
    Offline

    dmacleo Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Etna,ME
    wondering how editing prop file affects any rom updates.
  5. gflam
    Offline

    gflam Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,883
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Jersey
    Yea and not too many of us have milestones there's like 2 of u lol but I have 3 overclock apps/widgets on my phone for whatever reason ha. I have setcpu, cpu widget and cpu boost

    Sent from my Sourcery using DroidForums App
  6. dmf77
    Offline

    dmf77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It doesn't replace set cpu or cpu boost, u can still use them fine! All it does is allow u to change the cm stock kernel to whatever u want, 800/900/1000/1100/1200 overclock wise, and change the voltages in each slot. I've been flashing that kernel and using moc on every new rom I flash and love it!!
  7. neilrl79
    Offline

    neilrl79 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cecil County MD
    dmf77 explained it much better than I could.

    I never really thought about ROM updates, good question.

    My understanding is that it was originally developed for the Milestone but it in fact works very well on the Droid.
  8. eagle1967
    Offline

    eagle1967 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    colorado
    What this does!!!!!!!!!as far as i can tell

    what this does as far as i can tell is defeat the need to change kernels for different speeds

    you just change the specs of the current kernel.

    so cpu boost reads top of 900.
    you change settings in this program than without changing a kernel you go back to cpu boost and you now see your new settings like 1200
    you can set the voltages and stuff and play to which play best with your phone.

    so instead of checy's cause boot loops and slayhers are too hot you figure out the voltages in between the 2 set the kernel to it. so its like your building your own kernel.

    I am watching this closely !!! :)
  9. neilrl79
    Offline

    neilrl79 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cecil County MD
    Yeah I've been using it for a few days and it 's pretty cool.
  10. gflam
    Offline

    gflam Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,883
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Jersey
    O I didn't actually click the link or read ha I only saw it was an over clock app but that does sound sweet I'll have to play with that tonight

    Sent from my Sourcery using DroidForums App
  11. maninblack
    Offline

    maninblack New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can you explain how to edit the files that need to be edited please?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  12. eagle1967
    Offline

    eagle1967 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    colorado
    Got to the link in the op it explains it well.
  13. dmacleo
    Offline

    dmacleo Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Etna,ME
    eagle any idea if editing the prop file will cause any update/market/theme install issues?
  14. eagle1967
    Offline

    eagle1967 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    colorado
    Im watching here to see its popularity

    No it wouldnt be a problem. The sourcery has to be changed to droid from what i read which only effect would be that when you log in it wouldnt say welcome to sourcery. and droid forums app would say from my droid instead of from my sourcery. and a few other things that pull from there would say droid instead of sourcery.

    But for anyone reading this this is a very dangerous thing if you try this back up and have a kernel to reinstall on your sdcard :)

    You can definatley boot loop if not worse if you dont put in compatible settings.
  15. dmacleo
    Offline

    dmacleo Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Etna,ME
    may mess with it later today...may not...phone running well now so ... :) :)
  16. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,352
    Likes Received:
    545
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    I've been using it for a while. I like it. I've got as far as method 2. Still working on method 3. At first I rooted just to OC. Wished I would have found this back then. Would have saved me from all those battery pulls and flasing backups. Still use SetCPU for the profiles.
  17. DROOIID
    Offline

    DROOIID New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Can someone tell me the best settings to run my rooted Droid og. It is q stock kernel and I am using this app. I want speed but also battery life

    Sent using Droid Forum app.
  18. dmacleo
    Offline

    dmacleo Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Etna,ME
    having massive brain blocks, what was best way to edit the prop file?
    can be done on pc then moved back to phone correct?
  19. listenman20
    Offline

    listenman20 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    GA
    i believe it can be done with any text editor. should definitely make a copy of the original before changing anything tho.
  20. dmf77
    Offline

    dmf77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If u use root explorer, it automatically makes a backup of the originioal build prop..
Search tags for this page

how to use milestone overclock