Is antivirus really necessary?

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by andrewdoane, Dec 11, 2009.

  1. andrewdoane
    Offline

    andrewdoane New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Finally got worried enough to install antivirus today. Specifically, Antivirus Free by droidSecurity, Inc. Just checked my battery use and it's used 41% of my battery today, compared to 16% for the display. I can only assume that it's doing the same thing to my memory. So I find myself thinking I don't really need it seeing as I have never heard of anyone getting a virus. Do I really need antivirus? Have there been horror stories already?
  2. Graffin
    Offline

    Graffin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    I've been kind of wondering this myself. I downloaded lookout because I decided to put some mp3s that I may have acquired from some less than legal sources on my phone, and didn't want to take the chance of some rogue software messing it up.

    I actually really enjoy the other features of lookout, as well. You can back up your contacts, (not that google doesn't do that) and you can get online and set your phone to make noise if you replace it or see where it is if it gets stolen

    Still, do I really need the AV software?
  3. evil_O
    Offline

    evil_O New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    From what I understand the Droid OS (Android) does not need antivirus software...

    Thank Linux for that.

    WaveSecure Beta will do that and more.
  4. Terra
    Offline

    Terra New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not sure but it wouldn't hurt. I use lookout too and it works well. I have no problems with it whatsoever and its free.
  5. ipawd1
    Offline

    ipawd1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use it anyway.
  6. mikespe
    Offline

    mikespe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm using lookout and it seems to work good...
  7. SSHGuru
    Offline

    SSHGuru New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    I had Lookout and deleted it for WaveSecure Beta. Lookout is a bit of a sham since it scans the download after it's been downloaded. I have yet to find the perfect free utility that backs everything up and protects you.


  8. ipawd1
    Offline

    ipawd1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wavesecure looks interesting. Let me try my hand with it
  9. jaysonstaurt
    Offline

    jaysonstaurt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not really IMO. If something happens you just factory reset and reload all your stuff. Takes all of 5 minutes.
  10. backlash
    Offline

    backlash New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I agree. Linux FTMFW! :icon_ banana:
  11. Vanilla Tarantino
    Offline

    Vanilla Tarantino New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I originally had WaveSecure and switched over the Mobile Defense. I would very much recommend Mobile Defense over WaveSecure. The online interface is better, they're working on making it so that "advanced users" (I'm guessing this might mean those who have root) can switch GPS on remotely, and the program hides itself and prevents itself from being uninstalled by thieves. I don't believe WaveSecure can currently do GPS tracking and it displays itself prominently in the notification bar, proudly declaring "THIS PHONE IS PROTECTED BY WAVESECURE" - until you uninstall it.
  12. evil_O
    Offline

    evil_O New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have Wave Secure and it DOES NOT declare anything in the notification bar. Maybe I just have an updated version? Wave Secure CAN do GPS tracking. It can also do remote wipe and data backup.

    Check them both out before making a decision. This is the BEST way to avoid misinformation.
  13. medicTHREE
    Offline

    medicTHREE New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is no reason to believe the "antivirus" software is any more secure than any other app in the market. Therefore it is a gigantic waste.
  14. Vanilla Tarantino
    Offline

    Vanilla Tarantino New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My notification bar had the logo for Ten Cube, and when I pulled it down, it stated that the phone was protected. It was a dead giveaway that some program should be uninstalled. Perhaps that did go away with a recent update, I don't know.

    As for GPS, it's possible I just couldn't lock on to the satellites at the time.

    In the end, I've had a much better time with Mobile Defense, so my recommendation for that program stays. But, yeah, definitely check out both to see which works for you since you might find something that sells you on one over the other.
  15. cheewee
    Offline

    cheewee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Vanilla Tarantino,
    Yes, the status notification that showed up on every restart was removed along with the 11 Dec update. You can refer to the change log for more information.

    Also, we've just pushed a new update to Android Market to fix the bug that causes WaveSecure to not show up on phones with QVGA screens like the HTC Tattoo.

    Thanks,
    cheewee
    Team WaveSecure
    www.wavesecure.com
  16. MrBaz
    Offline

    MrBaz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Antivirus on this device is pointless. A virus programmed for Windows will NOT work on your Droid. It just straight up cannot run.
    It is just another marketing ploy for a company to make money off an unnecessary product.

    Name ONE virus that is out there RIGHT NOW that has a confirmed infection on an Android device.
  17. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Not worth the battery and memory drain.
  18. konstructa
    Offline

    konstructa New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  19. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Kaspersky makes money with articles like this. I wouldn't be too worried.
  20. JessiesGirl
    Offline

    JessiesGirl New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This may be a very silly question, as I am not a techie at all.

    But if you are synching your Android phone with a Windows machine, couldn't you transfer a virus to that machine? I suppose that machine is usually already protected, is that the thinking?

    And why would apps for the Android have Windows viruses? Wouldn't they have Android viruses? Even if there are few or no Android viruses today, they have to be coming, right?

    Sorry if I sound like a complete idiot. :icon_ nono2:
Search tags for this page
anti virus software for droid dna
,

antivirus for droid

,
antivirus software for droid
,
do i need a antivirus for my droid
,

droid antivirus

,
droid antivirus free
,
droid antivirus software
,
free droid antivirus
,
is antivirus software really necessary for android os
,
is mcafee good for droid
,
motorola antivirus for android phone
,
should i use an antivirus on my verizon driod phone