Is antivirus really necessary?

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by andrewdoane, Dec 11, 2009.

  1. andrewdoane
    Offline

    andrewdoane Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Finally got worried enough to install antivirus today. Specifically, Antivirus Free by droidSecurity, Inc. Just checked my battery use and it's used 41% of my battery today, compared to 16% for the display. I can only assume that it's doing the same thing to my memory. So I find myself thinking I don't really need it seeing as I have never heard of anyone getting a virus. Do I really need antivirus? Have there been horror stories already?
     
  2. Graffin
    Offline

    Graffin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been kind of wondering this myself. I downloaded lookout because I decided to put some mp3s that I may have acquired from some less than legal sources on my phone, and didn't want to take the chance of some rogue software messing it up.

    I actually really enjoy the other features of lookout, as well. You can back up your contacts, (not that google doesn't do that) and you can get online and set your phone to make noise if you replace it or see where it is if it gets stolen

    Still, do I really need the AV software?
     
  3. evil_O
    Offline

    evil_O Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    From what I understand the Droid OS (Android) does not need antivirus software...

    Thank Linux for that.

    WaveSecure Beta will do that and more.
     
  4. Terra
    Offline

    Terra Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not sure but it wouldn't hurt. I use lookout too and it works well. I have no problems with it whatsoever and its free.
     
  5. ipawd1
    Offline

    ipawd1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use it anyway.
     
  6. mikespe
    Offline

    mikespe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    I'm using lookout and it seems to work good...
     
  7. SSHGuru
    Offline

    SSHGuru Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Ratings:
    +30
    I had Lookout and deleted it for WaveSecure Beta. Lookout is a bit of a sham since it scans the download after it's been downloaded. I have yet to find the perfect free utility that backs everything up and protects you.


     
  8. ipawd1
    Offline

    ipawd1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wavesecure looks interesting. Let me try my hand with it
     
  9. jaysonstaurt
    Offline

    jaysonstaurt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not really IMO. If something happens you just factory reset and reload all your stuff. Takes all of 5 minutes.
     
  10. backlash
    Offline

    backlash Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree. Linux FTMFW! :icon_ banana:
     
  11. Vanilla Tarantino
    Offline

    Vanilla Tarantino Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I originally had WaveSecure and switched over the Mobile Defense. I would very much recommend Mobile Defense over WaveSecure. The online interface is better, they're working on making it so that "advanced users" (I'm guessing this might mean those who have root) can switch GPS on remotely, and the program hides itself and prevents itself from being uninstalled by thieves. I don't believe WaveSecure can currently do GPS tracking and it displays itself prominently in the notification bar, proudly declaring "THIS PHONE IS PROTECTED BY WAVESECURE" - until you uninstall it.
     
  12. evil_O
    Offline

    evil_O Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have Wave Secure and it DOES NOT declare anything in the notification bar. Maybe I just have an updated version? Wave Secure CAN do GPS tracking. It can also do remote wipe and data backup.

    Check them both out before making a decision. This is the BEST way to avoid misinformation.
     
  13. medicTHREE
    Offline

    medicTHREE Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is no reason to believe the "antivirus" software is any more secure than any other app in the market. Therefore it is a gigantic waste.
     
  14. Vanilla Tarantino
    Offline

    Vanilla Tarantino Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My notification bar had the logo for Ten Cube, and when I pulled it down, it stated that the phone was protected. It was a dead giveaway that some program should be uninstalled. Perhaps that did go away with a recent update, I don't know.

    As for GPS, it's possible I just couldn't lock on to the satellites at the time.

    In the end, I've had a much better time with Mobile Defense, so my recommendation for that program stays. But, yeah, definitely check out both to see which works for you since you might find something that sells you on one over the other.
     
  15. cheewee
    Offline

    cheewee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Vanilla Tarantino,
    Yes, the status notification that showed up on every restart was removed along with the 11 Dec update. You can refer to the change log for more information.

    Also, we've just pushed a new update to Android Market to fix the bug that causes WaveSecure to not show up on phones with QVGA screens like the HTC Tattoo.

    Thanks,
    cheewee
    Team WaveSecure
    www.wavesecure.com
     
Search tags for this page
antivirus for droid
,
antivirus software for droid
,
do i need a antivirus for my droid
,

droid antivirus

,
droid antivirus free
,
droid antivirus software
,
free droid antivirus
,
is antivirus software really necessary for android os
,
motorola antivirus for android phone
,
should i use an antivirus on my verizon driod phone