1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

iPhone Firmware port

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by quittle, May 11, 2010.

  1. quittle
    Offline

    quittle New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone know if someone has ported (idk if that is the proper word here) the iPhone firmware for the Droid. I know that they both have the same physical screen so they are both capable of delivering equal quality results but the iPhone is much better. I'm rooted but I haven't found anything like this anywhere. Has anyone made something I do an update.zip from and where can I get it? Really any way is fine.
  2. hobby31
    Offline

    hobby31 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    I've not heard of it. I know someone ported android over to the iphone and is actually dual booting it. I've actually seen video of it. But I've never heard of it the other way around. I think the screens are different. I know the moto droid is supposed to have a higher resolution and I think the physical screen is larger. At lease longways. I know it's thinner sideways than the iphone. I think android is easier to modify and change making it easier to port over to the iphone.
  3. shmoo
    Offline

    shmoo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just curious but why would you want the iPhone firmware on your Droid. Sounds pretty sacramental to me. LOL
  4. titans
    Offline

    titans Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you....just ask for iPhone software on your Droid!? IPHONE!?

    [​IMG]
  5. OSX2000
    Offline

    OSX2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    :blink: Wha??

    They're not even close! The software doesn't care how many inches a screen is, it's pixels that matter. The iPhone's 480x320 display gets whooped by Droid's 854x480. Two iPhone screens side by side are still smaller than a single Droid display.
  6. quittle
    Offline

    quittle New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, see, I don't want the iPhone OS or anything like that on my droid *blech*. I just want the touchscreen to be as sensative and accurate as the iPhone's. Also, I read that the screens were the exact same type, made by the same manufacturers
  7. hett
    Offline

    hett New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    Sorry, this is a major facepalm. The firmware has nothing to do with the touchscreen's sensitivity and accuracy. What you're asking is impossible.
  8. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Firmware porting is nigh unpossible without access to source code....

    It's not impossible, it's just more likely than not to never happen. If it does ever happen, it will be buggy and run slow as slow old balls. Cedega anyone?
  9. SilentJay
    Offline

    SilentJay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    lmao at this thread, i think it would be great to have the iphone on the droid at least as a dual boot would be even better. why?! So i can show all my iphone fanboy friends that hey droid does ;p Oh you got an iphone, woops now i do too ;p But im gonna switch back since this iphone is garbage but just so you know Droid pwns you! I use btunes for that reason, "i love the ipod on the iphone", shut up droid does that too :)
  10. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    that was awesome... well said lol
Search tags for this page
android firmware on iphone
,
can i installer iphone firmware on amdroid
,
firmware iphone android
,
how to get iphone firmware on amdroid
,
how to have android firmware on iphone
,
how to replace iphone firmware with android
,
install iphone firmware on android
,
iphone firmware android
,

iphone firmware for android

,

iphone firmware on android