iPhone can DROID can't?

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by xxnonamexx, Nov 24, 2009.

  1. xxnonamexx
    Offline

    xxnonamexx Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there a way/application to allow visual voicemail and multitask like the iPhone? example friend calls wants to see the time a movie is playing can I launch an app with the person on phone and get the movie times? I see iPhone ads saying DROID can't.
     
  2. Luxferro
    Offline

    Luxferro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Get an iPhone, and be stuck using only one app at a time, and be lucky if you get calls lol ;p
     
  3. JackT
    Offline

    JackT New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This isn't Droid specific, this is Verizon's network being CDMA based.
     
  4. wuyanks
    Offline

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    op, are you being sarcastic? iphone has no multitasking ability. but the AT&T network is designed so you can get voice and data simultaneously, which is unavailable with VZ (supposedly, i haven't tried yet)

    edit: i guess talking + surfing the web is a version of multitasking.
     
  5. xxnonamexx
    Offline

    xxnonamexx Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks I saw the add and I know AT&T is trying everything to bash DROID so I was curious if this was a DROID flaw that was able to be resolved in an app. Thanks again
     
  6. silenceforus
    Offline

    silenceforus Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I feel the need to pipe in.

    The droid multitasks verrry well,

    And if you are connected to wifi while on the phone you will still have internet functionality, soooo there's that. If you've got wifi you can.
     
  7. Erron
    Offline

    Erron Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dont feed the Trolls.
     
  8. xxnonamexx
    Offline

    xxnonamexx Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks I am getting the droid probably next week and even w/o that (iphone) feature I don't think its a big deal. I love V commercials bashing AT&T crap
     
  9. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,903
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Ratings:
    +2
    I am not sure what exactly you need. BUT. My Milestone is having dataconnection while having calls as well.

    Also a nice feature is holding a call while taking another call or even get callers together, to a conference. NICE!
     
  10. Utzz
    Offline

    Utzz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm, I just called myself and tried using the browser to look up a movie. No dice. It seems when a call is in progress, it cuts off internet access.
     
  11. Zippster
    Offline

    Zippster Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes that is a stated and known fact, you need to use wifi to do both simultaneously.
     
  12. Sp3aK
    Offline

    Sp3aK Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    But if you are browsing it can pause and get a call. Well I assume anyways. I was streaming music with Pandora and it paused to take a call and resumed as soon as I hung up.

    I do see how this could be annoying but each company has their downfalls.
     
  13. Stigy
    Offline

    Stigy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    This has been discussed before...

    CDMA (Verizon's network) does not allow for simultaneous voice + data. When Verizon launches their 4G (LTE) network next year it will allow for that and then AT&T will have no argument.
     
  14. mevans
    Offline

    mevans New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not only that, but AT&T/Apple's ad is only true in 3G areas. Edge can't do simultaneous voice/data either and that comprises 90% of their coverage.
     
  15. freshtodeath213
    Offline

    freshtodeath213 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    In terms of visual voicemail, get a google voice invite and download the app. It's free and the transcription feature is nice, although not very accurate. If you want, you can pay Verizon $3 I think for their Visual Voicemail service.
     
Search tags for this page

ap that allows droids and iphones

,

what an iphone 5 do that droid cant

,

what can an i phone do that an andriod phone cant

,

what can an iphone 5 do that droid cant

,

what can an iphone do that a droid can't

,

what can iphone do that droid can't