iphone 4... *one* way AT&T is better

Discussion in 'Off Topic Forum' started by jntdroid, Mar 21, 2011.

  1. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    So this is probably not news to most of you, but something I just discovered. My father-in-law had a 3GS on AT&T. His company recently switched over to Verizon and bought him an iPhone 4.

    Evidently, on Verizon, you can't do more than 3 (total) on a conference call at a time? And you can't simply "mesh" a new call in? He said he would regularly have conference calls on his phone with 4-6 people on AT&T and bring new callers in. Obviously, having web access came in handy during that time as well.

    So, his take? Since he actually used his phone, and for work at that... he'd take AT&T with the occasional dropped call any day over the limited functionality he's currently experiencing with Verizon.

    Yes, I'm sure not too many people are affected by this, but it's something I was unaware of and a little different perspective than what we normally hear, nonetheless...
  2. piquat
    Offline

    piquat New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a question, is this something VZW offers on some "business plan" that AT&T just offers to regular users?
  3. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,064
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    I think its a limitation of the type of network more than anything.

    Sent from somewhere...
  4. piquat
    Offline

    piquat New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow, really? That seems odd. Conferencing seems like an innate ability now-a-days. It's obviously possible, just seems limited. I'm well aware of the 'data/voice at the same time' limitation on CDMA. Never heard of a limit to conferencing.

    Thanks for the reply!
  5. Dj Carpenter
    Offline

    Dj Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Doesn't the Thunderbolt allow data during voice? I would think they could find a way around this.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  6. piquat
    Offline

    piquat New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It may, but the TB is on the LTE network, no? Which would also further prove the point that it's the network, which I still find surprising.
  7. Dj Carpenter
    Offline

    Dj Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Yeah but I read an article for it(here on the site) and it said that it was the first phone on Verizon to allow simultaneous voice/data over 3G. So, is it still considered the LTE network even if you're on 3G?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  8. stealthgriffin
    Offline

    stealthgriffin New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tbolt does voice and data over 3G. Its slightly slower than standard 3G because it piggy backs the data over the voice connection.

    The feature really shines over 4G though because it is using both radios.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  9. piquat
    Offline

    piquat New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good question. I have no idea how they handle that.

    Edit: Clarified above, thanks.
  10. Dj Carpenter
    Offline

    Dj Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Thought so, good to know. Man, I wished I lived in a 4G area. I'm not that worried about it but I'd love to just try it out a time or two.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  11. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    I could be wrong, but I'm pretty sure the only reason the TB allows voice/data simultaneously is because of LTE. The 3G network didn't suddenly change how it works. If you're not on LTE, I don't think you can do voice/data at the same time. (trying to find something to verify this! ;))
  12. Jordan8
    Offline

    Jordan8 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kentucky
    I forget were I read it, I'm thinking droid-life... but it was stated somewhere that the thunderbolt supports it by piggy backing on the voice connection. Verizon didn't want there reps to use it as a selling point though, because they wasn't sure how reliable it would be.
  13. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    Interesting - now I really want to dig more. If you find it, please post it in here.
  14. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
  15. Craiger22
    Offline

    Craiger22 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Verizon ws experimenting with simultaneous voice and data over the EVDO network. I believe they were calling it SVDO.

    As others have stated, reps and ad's weren't advertising it because the reliability was unknown.
  16. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    so I guess it requires a specific type of antenna in the phone then?
  17. Snow02
    Offline

    Snow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's supported on the chipset.
    Link
  18. piquat
    Offline

    piquat New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I formally apologize for mentioning simultaneous voice/data. I have derailed the thread. :(

    So, any other conflicting ideas on the limited number of participants in a conference call? Or is "the network" the final answer?
  19. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    You can't derail an off-topic thread! ;) It's no big deal, it ties in with what we're talking about.

    I do think the "network" is the final answer on the conference call, though. However, I wonder if this enhanced chipset and software upgrade on the backend allows for more on the conf call as well...
  20. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    thank you!