Internet/market issue on UD 1.0.0 on droid 1

Discussion in 'UltimateDroid' started by r1nstang, Oct 26, 2010.

  1. r1nstang
    Offline

    r1nstang Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Installed UD 1.0.0 on my Droid 1 yesterday. Internet will never connect. one I push the browser icon it says no connection page cannot be displayed. Open the market and it immediately says network connection error. This is using either the 3G (which honestly is lacking in this area) But also on the WIFI connection at my job. I know they have a few sites blocked...but the sites that are not blocked still will not connect. they get to about 10% and then just kinda hang there.

    Any ideas to fix this? thanks!
     
  2. MarkY3130
    Offline

    MarkY3130 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Seattle
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am certainly not the most qualified to respond but I am sure others will correct me. Anytime I have had trouble with wifi or connectivity with any ROM I always try a different kernal and it usually solves the problem.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  3. dfgged
    Offline

    dfgged New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I often have a similar problem where I get stuck at obtaining IP address. Turns out that you may need a different key if your network has a WEP key. If that's not it, I'd try a different kernal.
     
  4. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +35
    I'd try a different kernel first and see if that helps. Are you using the stock Slayher kernel now?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  5. daware
    Offline

    daware Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    I put airplane mode on for a minute and then turn it back off.
     
  6. r1nstang
    Offline

    r1nstang Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i didnt even think about trying a new kernal. Im on the stock kernal that came on the rom right now. Ill try a new one here in a bit. I think i was using Chevys ULV 1.25 kernal before this happened.

    Tried switching airplane mode on then off already...no luck
     
  7. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +35
    Keep us posted!
     
  8. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    Ratings:
    +36
    When you installed the ROM did you do a factory reset and wipe data AND cache? If not i would do that and reinstall the ROM.
     
  9. NeverEndingXsin
    Offline

    NeverEndingXsin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    what I would try first is just reinstalling the rom, wipe your data and cache and put it back on and see if that fixes your problem
     
  10. r1nstang
    Offline

    r1nstang Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yup wiped and cleared phone before installing the rom. Also tried reflashing the rom after it wasnt working the first time

    installed the ULV 1.25 Chevy kernal and its rocking right along now. WIFI works perfect. market is still iffy..but i think its blocked on wifi filters. Ill try to access it when i get home on my wifi
     
  11. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +35
    I thought the kernel may be the culprit! Glad it worked out man! Have you ran the Speed Up Market command to see if it helps? I noticed a lil difference but its still pretty slow..I don't think its the ROM though.



    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  12. r1nstang
    Offline

    r1nstang Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah I tried the speed up command but didnt notice any difference at all. and turns out market does work anywhere else..just not at work on their wifi..guess they have that blocked with the filters....damn!