Internet Connectivity While on a call? ? ?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by s3ntaur, Dec 1, 2009.

  1. s3ntaur

    s3ntaur New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Vegas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know if Verizon is going to ever have the capability to check email or browse the web while on a call? I work with a bunch of guys that have Iphones and I never hear the end of it. Either way I love my Droid. It would be nice if Verizon would make these changes. They also state that Verizon is not True 3G. He tells me that true 3G is the ability to be on a call and have internet connectivity. Can someone please shine some light on this issue?
     
  2. Monstrosity

    Monstrosity Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Graham, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    A lot of times the iphone can't stay in 3G long enough to actually keep on the internet during the call.


    And if the And if the iphone isn't in a 3G area it can't do this. If it's on EDGE, it can't do it [EDGE covers majority of ATT's coverage.]
     
  3. BzB

    BzB Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    maybe with LTE, but not with the current 3g setup. of course LTE is about a year away and the droid isn't LTE compatible that i know of.

    that's not true. 3g is in regards to network speed. they might think that 3g means the ability to do voice and data at the same time, but that's not the definition of 3g. it's a network limitation. cdma can't do simultaneous voice/data gsm can.

    by the way you can have simultaneous voice and data if you have wifi enabled and a wifi connection is available.
     
  4. s3ntaur

    s3ntaur New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Vegas
    Ratings:
    +0
    And Verizon is still using CDMA? Or is it the phones that can be either CDMA or GSM?
     
  5. BzB

    BzB Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    vzw (and sprint) is CDMA and will eventually migrate to LTE. att and tmobile are gsm.

    CDMA phones are not compatible with GSM networks and vice versa. edit: except for CDMA blackberry phones. when unlocked some CDMA blackberry phones can be used on GSM networks...with some limitations.
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2009
  6. s3ntaur

    s3ntaur New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Vegas
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  7. Monstrosity

    Monstrosity Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Graham, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can tell you LTE should be launched sometime in 2010.

    I've read where it's early 2010, and late 2010, so not sure.
     
  8. Zozz

    Zozz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    In about 1 year or more. It will be very limited and it's essentially 4g.
     
  9. keiichi25

    keiichi25 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    Actually, majority of VZW's phones are CDMA based, but they also have a few GSM based phones, namely their international usable phones like the Blackberry Storm, Storm 2 and the Blackberry 8830 World Edition, as well as one samsung phone. Verizon Wireless has Vodophone support for their European use, but only a few phones on Verizon's network uses the GSM and mostly for outside the US Market.
     
  10. freakintoddles

    freakintoddles Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    ok, but seriously how often do you find yourself in a situation that required you to remain on the phone and to use the internet on the phone at the same time? Not saying it doesnt happen... but for most people I can't imagine it is a problem.
     
  11. s3ntaur

    s3ntaur New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Vegas
    Ratings:
    +0


    Yeah you are right about that but I just needed some info the throw back at these IPHONE NAZI's. And it does work when you are connected to wifi.
     
  12. Monstrosity

    Monstrosity Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Graham, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    the iPHONE NAZI'S are just scared that their throne will be conquered, or at least lowered.

    The fact of the matter is, the Droid is a very good competitor for the iphone, and once the bugs are fixed, and more apps become available, the iphone might be digging in their pockets for new ideas to try and make them #1 again.

    Droid's biggest flaw when it comes to competing against the iPhone is the amount of time it's been in the market.
     
  13. Zozz

    Zozz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    As a former iPhone user, I can tell you that every iPhone user is smug about their phone. No matter how much you say their phone lacks, they will not listen.
     
  14. Monstrosity

    Monstrosity Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Graham, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you want to argue with them, simply say something that actually matters, like how the droid can multi-task.
     
  15. segen77

    segen77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I still can't figure out why when placing a call the 3g symbol goes away. I guess the 3g is for data only, and cdma is for calling?
     
Search tags for this page

can i connect to wifi on cdma while on call

,

connecting to internet while on call

,

how to keep connection while calling with droid?