1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Internal Memory has Bad Blocks?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Zodduska, Dec 19, 2009.

  1. Zodduska
    Offline

    Zodduska New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got some strange errors while formatting in preparation to install the Geek's 2.1 rom.

    Anyone have any idea why there would be bad block errors? Bad internal memory? Anyone else get these errors? Any feedback would be appreciated, thanks. :greendroid:
  2. denbow98
    Offline

    denbow98 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    I think this has to be done in recovery mode. Somebody correct me if im wrong.
  3. Zodduska
    Offline

    Zodduska New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This was in recovery mode. From what I've gathered it sounds like a lot of flash memory ships with bad blocks otherwise batch yields would be too low
  4. wuyanks
    Offline

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    is this preventing you from flashing the rom?
  5. Zodduska
    Offline

    Zodduska New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No the rom worked fine, I just thought it was a strange error.
  6. wuyanks
    Offline

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @zodduska: i've seen this issue pop up on a few forums... if it all works, then i'd overlook the error for now
  7. Zodduska
    Offline

    Zodduska New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks. From what I've read it seems that these blocks are marked bad from the factory and just end up written around
Search tags for this page

adb format internal memory

,
android adb internal memory bad blocks
,
android bad memory checker
,
android bad sectors check
,

android check for bad memory

,

android format internal memory

,
android how to check bad sectors in rom flash
,
android internal memory bad sectors
,

android memory bad sector

,

check bad memory android

,
galaxy s4 internal memory bad sectors
,

how to detect bad sectors in android

,

how to formate internal memory with adb

,
internal storage bad sector
,
mtd: not erasing bad block at