Internal Memory has Bad Blocks?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Zodduska, Dec 19, 2009.

  1. Zodduska

    Zodduska Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got some strange errors while formatting in preparation to install the Geek's 2.1 rom.

    Anyone have any idea why there would be bad block errors? Bad internal memory? Anyone else get these errors? Any feedback would be appreciated, thanks. :greendroid:
     
  2. denbow98

    denbow98 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think this has to be done in recovery mode. Somebody correct me if im wrong.
     
  3. Zodduska

    Zodduska Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    This was in recovery mode. From what I've gathered it sounds like a lot of flash memory ships with bad blocks otherwise batch yields would be too low
     
  4. wuyanks

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    is this preventing you from flashing the rom?
     
  5. Zodduska

    Zodduska Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    No the rom worked fine, I just thought it was a strange error.
     
  6. wuyanks

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    @zodduska: i've seen this issue pop up on a few forums... if it all works, then i'd overlook the error for now
     
  7. Zodduska

    Zodduska Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks. From what I've read it seems that these blocks are marked bad from the factory and just end up written around
     
Search tags for this page

adb format internal memory

,
android bad memory checker
,
android check for bad memory
,
android format internal memory
,
android internal memory bad sectors
,
android memory bad sector
,
android scan for bad sectors
,

check bad memory android

,
how to detect bad sectors in android
,
how to formate internal memory with adb