Interesting ICS Issue

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by GrimMeeper, Jun 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GrimMeeper

GrimMeeper New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Hey I don't know if this issue was posted before or not: I briefly flashed ICS to my bionic (the one from a few days ago). At the same time, it so happened that I had to take the cable out of my router, because I wanted to connect it directly to my PC. Despite my router not being connected to my modem, my Bionic STILL SAID that wireless networks were connected, and would automatically disconnect me from 4G, leaving me with nothing but a phantom connection that didn't work. It seems as though it detected the router and could not distinguish if it was a working router or not.

Is this helpful, or does it basically just read as "I am a Noob"?

EDIT: i have since used rsd lite and some instructions from this site to return to .902 ---> .905.

2. tcrews

tcrews Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

Ratings:
    +22
    A router doesn't need internet access to create a wireless network. So your devices (wireless) will still connect to a router that is on and broadcasting regardless of it having internet or not. This allows a completely private, internet free "internal" network between all your devices in your home (ie....laptop printing to wireless printer, laptop sharing files with pc, etc...).

Your phone saw the wireless network your router was creating, it doesn't care if that wireless network has internet access. Wireless networks (WiFi) and Internet are two different things.

3. jadesaber2

jadesaber2 Member

Ratings:
    +7
    Your router is still running a wireless network, even when it's not connected to the internet. That's what the phone is seeing, and connecting to.

4. GrimMeeper

GrimMeeper New Member

Ratings:
    +0