1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

insufficient space

Discussion in 'Liquid' started by packfan678, Nov 4, 2011.

  1. packfan678
    Offline

    packfan678 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Des Moines
    insufficient space [SOLVED]

    I just updated to 3.1 and my phone isn't letting me download apps. Despite having used only 82 MB it is telling me I have insufficient space. Any suggestions?
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2011
  2. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    OH
    Make more space use link2sd or put some on sdcard if you have more space and it still tells you that then you have a issue. But 80mb is plenty to install some apps I use to install apps with only having like 50mb of free internal space.
  3. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Unfortunately link2sd doesn't seem to work for quite a few people on liquid on the Droid 1 so you'd be stuck moving them to the sdcard the old way...and its odd it says low space with 80 MB left, usually it doesn't say that until its under 50 MB

    the ORIGINAL Droid
    supercharged modified liquid 3.1w/turbocharged 3g
    Pete's 5 slot lv 1.25GHz w/ kickasskernel tweaks
    19.9 linpack score
    1850 quadrant score
  4. blazednova
    Offline

    blazednova New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    although im a bit rusty with my OG droid, i would assume your issue is just an error somewhere. first try a reboot, and if it's to no avail, wipe all the cache partitions in recovery.
  5. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    OH
    There's got to be a reason why link2sd won't work for some ppl. I have no issues with it running any rom.
  6. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Idk, you running the stock kernel? That's the only thing I didn't try, but I even used another Chevy kernel and it wouldn't work...

    the ORIGINAL Droid
    supercharged modified liquid 3.1w/turbocharged 3g
    Pete's 5 slot lv 1.25GHz w/ kickasskernel tweaks
    19.9 linpack score
    1850 quadrant score
  7. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    OH
    No it works no matter what kernal I run. What's link2sd say? What's it do?
  8. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    AHA, I got it...apparently 2 modules actually need loaded for it to work
    First the jbd2.ko needs loaded in order to load any ext module...
    I'll post this finding in the rom thread so people will see it :)

    the ORIGINAL Droid
    supercharged modified liquid 3.1w/turbocharged 3g
    Pete's 5 slot lv 1.25GHz w/ kickasskernel tweaks
    19.9 linpack score
    1850 quadrant score
  9. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    OH
    Cool cool
  10. packfan678
    Offline

    packfan678 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Des Moines
    At the time I had used only 80 of the 256 MB of storage. Wiping the cache fixed the problem.

    Thanks for the help everyone.
  11. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Yeah I've heard the cache being too full can cause lots of errors like that...if you download a lot of market apps clear the cache afterwards

    the ORIGINAL Droid
    supercharged modified liquid 3.1w/turbocharged 3g
    Pete's 5 slot lv 1.25GHz w/ kickasskernel tweaks
    19.9 linpack score
    1850 quadrant score
  12. -iD
    Offline

    -iD New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    for whatever reason, sometimes the /cache/download folder fills up with all the apk's you download through the market and they never get deleted (i've still never read what mechanism is SUPPOSED to clear this out; what do non-rooted users do?) but if you empty that folder yourself you can clear up the problem w/o having to delete the whole /cache folder and endure the long reboot next time when all the app's .dex files are recreated.
  13. russ0627
    Offline

    russ0627 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can you elaborate on how to do this? I can't get it to work no matter what I do.
    Thanks
  14. kalypso
    Offline

    kalypso New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    still having this issue

    just backed up my SD card, and then a complete reformat in windows using the 32kb allocation size. ( which I read has the best benchmarks ) clean wipe and then put my files back but I still get the same error. insufficient space in the market app. cant download even the tiniest files; but 4shared and media fire downloads work fine in my browser.I've also re-flashed liberty and got the same error. i'm not sure what will fix this...
  15. QUAGMIRE
    Offline

    QUAGMIRE New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Insufficient space on droid 1 no way could it possibly be that its to small? could it be that the given rom is between 75mb and 88mb not to mention all the caching and data files for given apps? i mean droid 1 is "DEAD in the water" post gingerbread

    Motorola Droid - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
  16. budlight4me
    Offline

    budlight4me New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Wrong answer
  17. QUAGMIRE
    Offline

    QUAGMIRE New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah you again gle uhremp lmao really lets see here why is it all rom devs have to remove about 35% of product just to fit it on the device? its cool to defend the device hell i still have my "ipod" aka droid 1 but dont use it for phone. Why is it that not many if any is gonna try and get ics on droid 1? your only hope is a good theme. why is that 90% of devs quit supporting the droid 1 post gingerbread? but i guess tis true people only know what they experience and lack of experience makes for shallow understanding. Its not our fault that technology moves forward and things like droid 1 are obsolete 3to4 years later. but FACT is droid 1 is DOA nowadays. take any FROYO rom and it will run 5 times faster and smoother on droid 1 then any gingerbread rom could even dream of running Research is you're friend

    haha even my hacked ipod touch 2nd gen works better/faster then droid 1
  18. budlight4me
    Offline

    budlight4me New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Ha ha, nothing of help from you, nada
  19. kalypso
    Offline

    kalypso New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    some progress

    I've read that there are dependent files that are part of*cityID and *GoogleTalk that the android market needs. Oddly enough reinstalling these is not possible. on liverty 3.0, even when i try to fix permissions. This might be able to help some of you Droid X users out there that haven't had any luck with Market Fix.there has to be a solution for this. Good Luck!
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2011
Search tags for this page

4shared insufficient storage space

,
android app upload insufficient space
,
aoson m12 insufficient space errors android 2.3
,
cm 10.2.0 galaxy s3 insufficient space
,

cm 11 insuffient storage

,
insufficient storage available
,

insufficient storage space 4shared

,

insufficient storage space android

,
insuffient space droid 4
,

link2sd insufficient storage error

,
liquid smooth rom can't download any apps says insufficient