Instant FAIL using RSD Lite

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by DroiDon, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. DroiDon

    DroiDon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Instant FAIL installing SPRecovery using RSD Lite

    Hey all, I really appriciate any feedback you can give me regarding this issue.

    I am using the walkthrough found here: Guide to Rooting Android 2.1 on a Motorola Droid | Droid Life: A Motorola Droid Blog

    I am stuck at installing SPRecovery. Currently running Windows 7 64bit on an HP laptop.. I am running RSD Lite as admin. I have downloaded and installed the Motorola 64bit drivers. Whenever I run RSD Lite and try to start SPRecovery, I get instant Fail. The phone is plugged in and in the Boot Loader as well.

    Here is a rundown of all the troubleshooting I've done so far:
    -Tried moving SPRecovery to different directories.. In 'My Documents' (where I find the file is located in all the walkthroughs I've found), whenever I select SPRecovery, nothing shows under 'File Properties' and Start is greyed out. When I move to the root of my C drive or D drive, I get file properties but fails instantly when I press Start. Same with any subfolder I move the file to.
    -Tried reinstalling the 64bit drivers several times.
    -Turned 'USB Debugging' on
    -Tried every one of my computers USB ports
    -Made sure the file was 'unlocked', and again , that I'm running RSD Lite in administrator.

    I'm sure i'm missing something basic here, but I've been fighting it all morning to no avail. One thing I find odd is , the my documents directory is the only location where RSD Lite doesn't 'see' SPRecovery.. I have turned sharing off as well. I'm not sure why this is the only place it won't load the file.

    Any help is much appriciated. I don't have a desktop computer to try this on, unfortunately
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2010
  2. zone117x

    zone117x New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also have a Windows 7 64-bit machine, and I ran into similar problems with RSDLight.
    From all the trouble you've went through so far, you might as well just root your device using a different method.
    Try this tutorial.
     
  3. DroiDon

    DroiDon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, but unfortunately this tutorial is exactly like the one I was following before. I'm basically doing step 1, and just cannot get the SPRecovery file to flash, start is either greyed out or fails. The other walkthrough even had a video, I followed it to a T (plugged in when he did, in the exact order, etc) and I still ran into an issue.

    You're probably right though. I need to probably step back to 2.01 and go from there, I just really wanted to do this process because its so damn n00b proof, and its painfully obvious how much of a n00b I am.
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2010
  4. zone117x

    zone117x New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My mistake, I should have specified! You can do "Option 2" from that tutorial, no RSDLight :)


    Edit: I had Option 3 instead of Option 2.
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2010
  5. kpiskin

    kpiskin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same configuration including the HP laptop, same issue.
     
  6. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Not being helpful here, just going to mention it doesn't work on Mac running a Virtual Machine and Windows Vista (32 bit). I had to use my wife's Windows XP to get it to work.
     
  7. kpiskin

    kpiskin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can't do option 3 unless you're already rooted. I'm unrooted 2.1.
     
  8. mrZoSo

    mrZoSo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    GA from Philly PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make sure in Device Manager you see it listed as Mot Composite ADB Interface and not Android Composite ADB Interface.(phone has to be plugged in usb and in debug mode to see this)
    If you need to change it, go to Update driver under the properties(dbl click on it)>Driver tab>Update Driver>select- Browse my computer for driver software>select- Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer> Select- Mot Composite ADB Interface

    See if this helps.
     
  9. DroiDon

    DroiDon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow, awesome tip!! However unfortunately, its already Mot Composite ADB.
     
  10. zone117x

    zone117x New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, it was Option 2. No RSDLight or root needed.
     
  11. drewlamo1

    drewlamo1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    im running win7 64bit but im on a DELL pc.

    i got it to work, main thing was i had to have the sbf file on the root of the pc

    c:\file

    for some odd reason it wouldnt work unless it was there.

    was greyed out ( wouldnt start )

    when you open the file from rsd you should get black writing describing the file on the rsd main page application.

    yea was rly weird but it worked.
    credit goes to someguy( not me ) for that fix if it works lol

    cant remember where i read that but alas thats how i orignally fixed mine
     
  12. caslim

    caslim New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've tried all these little tricks, and nothing seems to work. Here is the error I get in the errorlog:

    15:26:42, June 08, 2010
    Line: 865
    ERROR: \\?\c:\sprecovery_ese81.sbfw@x´þÿÿÿ‚qwñrwð¥ê contains an invalid path.
    File: X:\test_dev_usb\flash\code\flashdll\PST_FP_FlashFi leIO.cpp

    15:26:42, June 08, 2010
    Line: 542
    ERROR: The superfile specified does not exist
    File: X:\test_dev_usb\flash\code\flashdll\FlashHdlr.cpp
    Device ID: 0
     
  13. DroiDon

    DroiDon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I decided to try another box.. I tried another Win 7 64 bit, and got the same problem... Then, I tried to install on a Win XP 32 bit and it worked perfectly. I'm not sure why, but apparently I just couldn't get the 64bit drivers to work with my I guess.
     
  14. megawatz

    megawatz Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm also running an HP (TouchSmart tx2) with Windows 7 64-bit.

    I had to use a Windows 7 32-bit computer to do mine via RSD Lite. Some of the problems they have is that the actual program itself is 32-bit. Therefore, when you trying and program using 32-bit software with 64-bit drivers, you get complications. Now if Motorola released an RSD Lite 64-bit, then everything would be fine. However, they haven't, so this is why we have complications. Some do work, some do not. this is just my take on it.
     
  15. kpiskin

    kpiskin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Based on what's being said about RSDLIte being 32bit, maybe the issue for Win7 64 isn't running RSDLite in admin mode, but rather in a windows compatibility (XP) mode to see if it works that way. I might try that this evening and see what happens.
     
Search tags for this page
bootloop rsd lite fail steps 1 and 6 of 22
,
porque me da fail el rsdlite
,
rsd lite 14/21 fail
,

rsd lite file properties

,
rsd lite file properties vazio