Installing rom question

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by fromctoz, Jul 23, 2010.

  1. fromctoz
    Offline

    fromctoz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there a way to install a new rom and keep current apps, contacts,etc? Everytime I Change roms I have to start from scratch. Any one have a fix for this or is this the only way? Thanks in advance
  2. cromo8
    Offline

    cromo8 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    dont wipe data and cache then, usually when reading about rom they say it not required, or you can use my backup app and when everything deletes, just download his app and reinstalls all your apps and data and contacts and messages etc...
  3. fromctoz
    Offline

    fromctoz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks. I'm gonna try this right now. I will let you know if it works
  4. Taegost
    Offline

    Taegost Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa Bay, Fl
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you're switching between ROMs, you MUST wipe data and cache. Most times if you don't, you'll end up in a boot loop until you go into the recovery and either restore from backup, or do a wipe.
    If you set your gmail account to sync automatically, it'll pull down your calendar and contacts. If you download Titanium Backup, you can use that to backup all your apps and their data prior to flashing the new ROM, and than use it to restore them afterwords.
    I recommend Paypal'ing him the money for the full version as it will do a batch restore that doesn't require any intervention and goes a lot faster.
  5. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Ratings:
    +37
    I don't know Taegost. You may have to enlighten me on Titanium. I just use nandroid in recovery mode to backup everything. And that thing saves everything and then some.
Search tags for this page
does installing a custom rom remove everything
,

does installing a rom erase contacts

,
does installing rom erase data
,
droid bionic will installing a rom keep data and apps
,

will a custom rom wipe everything