installing BB v1.0

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by NeverEndingXsin, Feb 20, 2010.

  1. NeverEndingXsin

    NeverEndingXsin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay so i rooted my DROID using the SMUpdater and am currently running sholes mod 2.05 but with everything going on between that and then ive been watching Pete's bugless beast rom ive decided that i'd like to switch but i dont wanna unroot and then re-root my phone to do that. and i have done research on how to do it but still need a little help (yes im a noob) so my question is can anybody tell me exactly what i need to do to switch over?

    any help would be much appreciated [​IMG]
     
  2. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Backing up your apps is a must unless you want to lose everything through what im about to tell you.

    Copy the update.zip into the root of your sdcard. Boot into sprecovery and wipe data and wipe cache partition. Then scroll down to install, hit allow and then install update.zip.
     
  3. NeverEndingXsin

    NeverEndingXsin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    will i lose all my text messages/contacts by doing this?
     
  4. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use MyBackUp Pro and that allows me to back those up too. I know you can back up apps with astro some how, but idk where txts or contacts are located so you can back those up too.

    I do recommend buying mybackup pro though, because you can set it to backup your apps every day/week, which can save you if you have to reset your phone or go to an older backup.

    One more thing, the reason I said you should wipe data/cache partition is because people have had problems when going from rom to rom, for example sholes to BB.
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2010
  5. NeverEndingXsin

    NeverEndingXsin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ahhh okay thanks for the help :)
     
  6. NeverEndingXsin

    NeverEndingXsin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    just saw your edit. thanks again for the helpful advice :)
     
  7. SuGaR

    SuGaR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make sure when you go to "install" in recovery you click "Allow update.zip installation" (not exact words but you'll see it). Otherwise it will not be permitted to install and it was abort the installation. After clicking that allow setting, then go to "install update.zip (deprecated)".