Installing A Kernel

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by gbouten, Apr 28, 2010.

  1. gbouten

    gbouten Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know now how to root my 2.1 phone and it was easy thanks to everyone here. Is there just as easy of a way to install a Kernel like for overclocking. I have seen the nuts and bolts of how to do that
     
  2. samiusmc

    samiusmc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Just find the kernel you want, place the kernel file on the root of your SD card, rename it update.zip, reboot into recovery and select the option to apply the update.zip file. Reboot and you're done.
     
  3. kavancamp

    kavancamp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The Hoosier State
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just intalled...is it working???

    So I just installed Bekit 0.8.3-5x1000LV and rebooted. Went to SetCPU and still running at max of 550MHz. Any ideas???
     
  4. gbouten

    gbouten Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same for me I just installed the Chevey LV kernel and SetCPU still shows 550 as my Max. More reading I guess.
     
  5. jrocketdroid

    jrocketdroid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you try moving the yellow bar to see if it would go beyond 550? If not, you have to ensure SetCPU can detect your new kernel. Press the hard menu key and press device selection, then look for the auto-detect option. You should be set after that.
     
  6. huskur

    huskur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    Ratings:
    +36
    open SetCPU and then go to the menu (four little lines) and select "device selection" and then select "auto-detect"

    Problem solved.
     
  7. gbouten

    gbouten Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought I had tried that. Like you said problem solved.
     
  8. korp

    korp Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yup same way when you were rooting ... very easy.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  9. brochaos

    brochaos Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i don't think bekit's roms work on stock rom 2.1 ese81. at least not for me. luckily sprecovery knew that and stopped me.
     
Search tags for this page

driod x2 kernal update

,

how do i updatedroid 3 kernal

,

kernel updates on droid x2

,

update droid x2 kernel