installed ss last night

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by wvdroidman, Jul 13, 2010.

  1. wvdroidman
    Offline

    wvdroidman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I installed ss last night and it is awesome. Only problem is that I can't get setcpu to work. Somehow it is telling me that it has been denied root access.
  2. Coolsaber57
    Offline

    Coolsaber57 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you go into the superuser app and see if it has permissions? Maybe delete SetCPU from the Superuser app and relaunch it.
  3. wvdroidman
    Offline

    wvdroidman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it says it has permission in superuser and says it can't read the custom config so it is resuming normal defaults.
  4. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Run these commands and tell me what you see:

    ls -l /system/bin/su
    ls -l /system/xbin/su
  5. hogowner
    Offline

    hogowner New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Chevy...first off AWESOME ROM!!

    the only problem I am having is that with the NFL app from Verizon using 3G...

    I have it saying verizon wireless....

    the problem I am having is when I start the NFL app....all it says "loading"...if I am on 3G it doesn't load....get a message that says I am not connected.....but all other apps connect...

    the only way I can get it to work...is to turn on the wireless....it connect FAST!

    am I missing something I should try?


    I uninstalled it and installed with Titanium...

    Thanks!
  6. wvdroidman
    Offline

    wvdroidman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i got it to work now but it won't go faster than 700mhz for some reason.
  7. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And you selected autodetect within SetCPU?
  8. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you using the unlocked NFL app? Because I have used it with no issues ...
  9. wvdroidman
    Offline

    wvdroidman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i don't see an autodetect. I have it set for performance right now.
  10. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hit your menu button - then Device Selection - then Autodetect Speeds
  11. wvdroidman
    Offline

    wvdroidman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    still 700mhz after autodetect.
  12. Asterisk
    Offline

    Asterisk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you flash a new kernel for a different cpu speed?
  13. hogowner
    Offline

    hogowner New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    can you give me the link please? thanks
  14. wvdroidman
    Offline

    wvdroidman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no i flashed the latest SS build.
  15. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here ya go:

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/xeudoxus/37530-verizon-nfl-app-unlocked.html
  16. Asterisk
    Offline

    Asterisk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You might have to try and flash a different overclocked kernel.
  17. wvdroidman
    Offline

    wvdroidman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    does that mean that SS doesn't support speeds over 700mhz and i have to backup,wipe and restore?
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2010
  18. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    All of of my kernels support speeds over 700 - other than trying to flash a different kernel (you do NOT have to wipe) ... not sure what the issue is
  19. wvdroidman
    Offline

    wvdroidman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how do i flash a different kernel and what other kernels are out there for ss?
  20. megawatz
    Offline

    megawatz New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you tried Overclock Widget? It wouldn't matter since you need to flash a new kernel to get what you need. However, it works the same for me as setCPU does. Same quadrant scores, MFLOPS, etc.