Installed SD3 5.3 and radio hack won't work

Discussion in 'Steel Droid - D3' started by Johnnyb, May 2, 2012.

  1. Johnnyb
    Offline

    Johnnyb Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've not used the radio hack that Chevy references in the OP, so I thought I'd give it a go today. I've got the moto help drivers installed and up to date but when I run RadioComm I get nothing, the phone isn't showing up. I've changed USB cables and USB ports on the PC I'm using (which is a win7 64bit machine).

    Has anyone else applied the radio hack to the SD3 5.3? Can anyone give me some advice on next steps to troubleshoot?
     
  2. Johnnyb
    Offline

    Johnnyb Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    One thing I'm not sure of, the instructions tell me to "Put the phone in PC Mode". That used to be very simple in GB but I don't know how to do that in ICS. That very well could be my problem.
     
  3. wil700xx
    Offline

    wil700xx Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't think u have to radio hack in ics.
     
  4. Johnnyb
    Offline

    Johnnyb Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've installed FoxFI and that doesn't work. Is there another tethering app to use for ICS? (I guess I could search a bit more...)
     
  5. wil700xx
    Offline

    wil700xx Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Isn't there an wifi tether app installed. I think its called wifi tether app. Unless Chevy didn't put it on there.

    axiom rebirth
     
  6. Johnnyb
    Offline

    Johnnyb Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    it's not there. I just installed Barnacle WiFi and it seems to be working. I'm going to test a bit more though, before I put my stamp of approval on it...I don't know how we're getting around the radio hack...if we don't "re-label" those packets Verizon will know we're using tethered data. If Chevy included it in the package I would have expected he would have called that out and removed the reference in the OP to using the radio hack.

    I'll test more and report back here.
     
  7. Johnnyb
    Offline

    Johnnyb Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It looks like it's working but it's not. I am unable to connect any device to my phone via Barnacle. Still looking for a solution.
     
  8. wil700xx
    Offline

    wil700xx Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's weird I've used most of the pics from they have always worked. I haven't used steel Droid in awhile.

    axiom rebirth Droid 3
     
  9. Johnnyb
    Offline

    Johnnyb Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll keep poking around, maybe some body will ready this and have some other idea's as well. Thanks for you thoughts/suggestions.
     
  10. mordocai
    Offline

    mordocai New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try doing it from stock

    I haven't gotten tethering to work either (i think my problem is I'm just not using barnacle wifi right) but in any case i'm using safestrap and just went back to stock temporarily, connected in pc mode, did the hack, then went back to steel droid. That may be the way to do it.
     
Search tags for this page

android wont work with gm radio

,
blip tv
,
motohelp 5.3