1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Installed leaked 2.3 and unrooted!

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by jlb13085, Apr 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jlb13085
    Offline

    jlb13085 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerville SC
    First I would like to say hello to everyone as I am a new poster, not a new reader. Secondly, I admit in advance that I'm an idiot. So...

    I installed the new leaked 2.3 gingerbread on my X with no problems and loved it. My wife liked it and wanted me to put it on her Droid 2. So I proceeded to root her phone and install the d2 zip with bootstrap like I did on my phone with no problems.

    Now she insisted that I unroot the phone when I was done, so I did, thinking I was finished. Then I found out swype was inoperable due to whatever reasons. Swype is a must for her. Now replacing the production swype with the beta swype is easy... on a rooted device. I unrooted a brand new OS and now have no way to root it back to fix this issue UNLESS...

    ...there is a way to get into clockwork recovery without being rooted. I did have the presence of mind to do a back up while I was in there initially. That is the only thing I can think of. If anyone has any advice I would greatly appreciate it. Otherwise this phone is in limbo and I'm in the dog house :)


    Jamie

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  2. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Have you tried doing a manually reboot to see if it boots into clockwork?

    Btw there's no need to start a new thread in several different sections.
  3. jlb13085
    Offline

    jlb13085 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerville SC
    You mean turning it off and powering on like I'm going into recovery?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  4. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Yes just do a manual reboot. Worst case scenario,you will have to sbf and restore a backup.
  5. jlb13085
    Offline

    jlb13085 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerville SC
    Well that's the problem, I'm not rooted so it doesn't go into clockwork recovery, just stock recovery.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  6. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Then an sbf will bring it back to stock. Hopefully you have a backup to restore after sbfing
  7. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,055
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Going to close this thread....continue in the other thread you posted and please don't cross post in the future.

    Sent from somewhere...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.