Installed leaked 2.3 and unrooted!

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by jlb13085, Apr 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jlb13085
    Offline

    jlb13085 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerville SC
    First I would like to say hello to everyone as I am a new poster, not a new reader. Secondly, I admit in advance that I'm an idiot. So...

    I installed the new leaked 2.3 gingerbread on my X with no problems and loved it. My wife liked it and wanted me to put it on her Droid 2. So I proceeded to root her phone and install the d2 zip with bootstrap like I did on my phone with no problems.

    Now she insisted that I unroot the phone when I was done, so I did, thinking I was finished. Then I found out swype was inoperable due to whatever reasons. Swype is a must for her. Now replacing the production swype with the beta swype is easy... on a rooted device. I unrooted a brand new OS and now have no way to root it back to fix this issue UNLESS...

    ...there is a way to get into clockwork recovery without being rooted. I did have the presence of mind to do a back up while I was in there initially. That is the only thing I can think of. If anyone has any advice I would greatly appreciate it. Otherwise this phone is in limbo and I'm in the dog house :)


    Jamie

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  2. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Have you tried doing a manually reboot to see if it boots into clockwork?

    Btw there's no need to start a new thread in several different sections.
  3. jlb13085
    Offline

    jlb13085 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerville SC
    You mean turning it off and powering on like I'm going into recovery?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  4. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Yes just do a manual reboot. Worst case scenario,you will have to sbf and restore a backup.
  5. jlb13085
    Offline

    jlb13085 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerville SC
    Well that's the problem, I'm not rooted so it doesn't go into clockwork recovery, just stock recovery.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  6. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Then an sbf will bring it back to stock. Hopefully you have a backup to restore after sbfing
  7. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,060
    Likes Received:
    128
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Going to close this thread....continue in the other thread you posted and please don't cross post in the future.

    Sent from somewhere...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.