Installed Helix and now Gmail doesn't work

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Rosmo, Apr 7, 2010.

  1. Rosmo

    Rosmo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry if this issue has been solved already, I did a search and couldn't find anything.

    I installed Helix yesterday and love it but now my Gmail doesn't automatically receive new emails and have to go in and manually refresh every time. I have went in and cleared out the cache but that hasn't worked. Suggestions??


    Thanks,
    Rosmo
     
  2. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5,402
    Likes Received:
    1,044
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +1,136
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Are you rooted or stock? If rooted, which rom?

    Gmail sync issues are common on some is the custom roms including, but not limited to Bugless Beast and UD.

    However, clearing the cache and etc as you say you did usually fixes the issue for a while.

    I just skimmed your post because I'm on break at work, so sorry if you answered this, but did you try uninstalling helix for a while? And which version of it are you using? 1 or 2?

    I'm running 1o on stock 2.1 and haven't had an issue with my gmail.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  3. Rosmo

    Rosmo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am running stock 2.1 and hopefully don't have to uninstall Helix.
     
  4. Steve H

    Steve H Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Southern Utah
    Ratings:
    +0
    I installed Helix ver 1 yesterday on my stock 2.1 phone. All my home screen apps disappeared............... Uninstalled it and they came back.
     
  5. KZIWarrior

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    .... yes, of course they "disappeared" they are supposed to (actually they DIDN'T) because you are using a NEW (i.e. different) home screen/launcher... Each home screen app has it's own setup and they operate independently of each other. If you would have used the 'home switcher' and chosen the default home screen you would have see you original setup still in place.
     
  6. Steve H

    Steve H Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Southern Utah
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the help. now if I can find the 7 home screens...............
     
  7. warrior21

    warrior21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Menu>configure>screen size
     
  8. Steve H

    Steve H Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Southern Utah
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks very much
     
  9. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5,402
    Likes Received:
    1,044
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +1,136
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Thanks for the help fellas! I'm at work right now.

    For the poster that's having the issues on stock 2.1, are you having any other problems since the update?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  10. Yno

    Yno New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same problem as the OP. I have to manually sync to get gmail. This is a deal breaker for me. It is too bad, because I really like Helix.
     
  11. Yno

    Yno New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just did a test. I uninstalled Helix - Gmail syncs within seconds. I reinstalled Helix - had to sync manually. Did this three times, sending myself email from different accounts. In all cases the mail showed up quickly on the computer, but not on the Droid.

    I did like Helix, but it is off my Droid until this is fixed. :frown:
     
  12. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5,402
    Likes Received:
    1,044
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +1,136
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    I just contacted the dev via twitter and linked to this thread. Hopefully he's got an idea. I'll keep you posted.

    I still don't have this issue on the stock os using t the ota update pushed to me...

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  13. Mule65

    Mule65 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did the same tests and got same results! Good riddance HelixLauncher!
     
  14. cereal killer

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,173
    Likes Received:
    914
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +932
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    Working for me...I just sent 2 test emails.
     
  15. dunamis

    dunamis Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    when I put the email on my "static" four I didn't get any emails....and so I deleted the app and put it in one of the window and voila!!! Maybe just me...but seems to be working.