1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Installed BB 1.1, now can't get past 550mhz.

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by jrl9851, Feb 22, 2010.

  1. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    SetCPU maxes out at 550, and I no longer have the temp reading for the OMAP sensor. What's the problem?
  2. bamfsig45
    Offline

    bamfsig45 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ICT
    Did you select Moto Droid or Auto Detect in setcpu? Auto detect is the correct one to select.

    Edit: Sorry didnt realize BB 1.1 had no OC kernal.

    Last edited: Feb 22, 2010
  3. 1033
    Offline

    1033 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't think it comes with OC kernel by default, there is links on Pete's page to update the kernel.
  4. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Ah that's the problem. So how exactly do we install a different kernal? I only see directions to installing the update.zip ROM.
  5. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Did you use the update.zip or the nandroid install? Did you install a custom kernel after the 1.1 install? I believe Pete included the stock 550mhz kernel in the 1.1 BB rom. He has provided the OC kernels to download, but you need to install it afterwards to get overclocking.

    I'm running BB 1.1 with the Chevy1 kernel at 800 mhz now.
  6. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    After installing BB 1.1, change the update.zip file's name to udate.old or something. then change the name of one of the OC kernel's to update.zip and put it on your card. Reboot into Recovery and install the update.zip just like you would any other update.
  7. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Yeah I figured that was the problem, but I'm not sure how to install a new kernal on top of 1.1
  8. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    So I leave the BB 1.1 update.zip in my root folder, change the name of it, and put the new update.zip kernal in my root folder and install that?
  9. 1033
    Offline

    1033 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, its hard to sort through releases/upgrades on a forum, heres a link to pete's patchers, choose one of the chevy ones.

    Index of /pete/Patchers

    Edit: to above question, yes.
  10. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    They are in update.zip format, just change the name to update.zip and do another update using Recovery after installing the BB 1.1 update. The 2 OC kernels will give you CPU temp monitoring with TempMonitor too.
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2010
  11. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks guys got it! I seem to have MUCH better 3g reception with 1.1 also.
  12. qoncept
    Offline

    qoncept New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    I wish the ROM developers would quit changing their minds about random things every release. Half of the changes in all of them are undoing or redoing things they'd already done before. How is this Bugless "Beast" if it doesn't just COME WITH an OC kernel?
  13. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Because all this stuff reacts differently on almost everyone's droid. Some roms work well on some and not others. Some kernels work well on some Droids and not others. This lets people install a rom that is not overclocked and then try kernels until they find one their droid likes. Also by starting a rom at 550, it avoids some of the rebooting issues people have had when they, for instance, install a rom that is at 1.1 Ghz and their droid will not run at 1.1. When that happens they get instant and repeated reboots.
  14. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    That is why, when installing a an OC'd rom for the first time, it is advisable to uncheck the "Set on Boot" option in SetCPU, so it doesn't boot up in the highest OC frequency.
  15. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Excellent point!! I never had the instant reboot issue (well except for two quick reboots with BB7.6 (I think) and it worked itself out). I never, ever would have thought of the "set on boot" option though. thanks for the heads-up. I will definitely use it if I ever install another oc'd rom. :)
  16. mach330
    Offline

    mach330 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The OC
    i think what qoncept was trying to say is that if "beast" doesn't have oc enable anymore, then isn't that what the "beauty" is for? i could care less since i always oc, but i do agree on the naming convention should be consistent. oc should stay left out on beauty, but included with beast. but this does give us an option to which kernel to run. i'll try v1.1 tonight. i think it has stabilized enough from what people are saying.
  17. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Sort of missed that. Guess I'm reading too fast!!

    I don't care what Pete names them.
  18. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So if my Droid runs flawlessly at 1.25ghz with no force closes, does that mean I have one of the good cpus? Lol
  19. mak725
    Offline

    mak725 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    can you help me on how to put the oc kernel on to 1.1?
  20. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Each processor chip has it's own limits/tolerances, sounds like you have a "good one". ;)

    What kind of temps are you seeing at 1.25Ghz?

    I'm happy at 900Mhz for now, but I may bump it up to 1Ghz later.
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2010