Installation of Sourcery 2.2

Discussion in 'Sourcery ROM' started by Chizzele, May 17, 2011.

  1. Chizzele
    Offline

    Chizzele Team Sourcery Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Ratings:
    +17
    The Right way to install this Rom is to download all three to the sd and flash all before boot. I will fix the OP to further emphasize it.
  2. buellboy9
    Offline

    buellboy9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Am I reading this thread correctly? This mod is no longer being developed?
  3. Chizzele
    Offline

    Chizzele Team Sourcery Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Ratings:
    +17
    That has been the case for the last couple of month. This Rom is not being developed but is Supported.
  4. transfigure
    Offline

    transfigure New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just installed. Quite simple. So far, it looks quite good. The options available are quite nice - I was able to install a Slayher kernel with ease. I'm coming from CyanogenMod because I was having lots of hanging and lagging problems. Fingers crossed that Sourcery runs more smoothly.
  5. zerosouls
    Offline

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, I installed deprimeds kernel which was working on CM6.
  6. buellboy9
    Offline

    buellboy9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Setting up now... keeping fingers crossed...
  7. Chizzele
    Offline

    Chizzele Team Sourcery Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Keep us posted... I would recommend not to install any kernel until the Rom is up and running, after words if you are not happy with the Kernel choices inside the Rom, nandroid and then flash new ones.
  8. buellboy9
    Offline

    buellboy9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Sh*t... I'm DEAD. Don't know WHAT happened. Everything was going well till I rebooted the phone. Had everything installed, then used ROM Manager to reset the system file permissions (having trouble with moving an application to the SD card).

    When it came back from the boot, I just got into a "Boot Logo Loop." No problem, I figured, I'd just reboot into recovery and start over... So I pulled the battery, reinserted it, held down the "X" key and powered the phone back on...

    Except now all I'm getting is the Motorola logo over and over!! Tried pulling the battery again and with the "X" key held, it went into the Sourcery Boot Loop!!

    HELP!! I've never run into this before that I can't even get into Clockwork Mod!! I've got a brick right now.
  9. zerosouls
    Offline

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hold down the power button and x together.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  10. buellboy9
    Offline

    buellboy9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    I should've been clearer... that's what I was doing. Looks like I'll have to wait till I get home and I can use RSD Lite to reset the phone back to stock.
  11. eagle1967
    Offline

    eagle1967 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    colorado
    Ratings:
    +8
    what he said

    never had the rom ever delete recovery. i can only guareentee you that there is a 99,9% chance you are not bricked (.1 % to avoid being sued so you can take 80% of my zero dollars i have)
    let us know.
  12. eagle1967
    Offline

    eagle1967 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    colorado
    Ratings:
    +8
    ok

    glad you know how to do that that will fix it. not sure what you did but this is definatley the first time anyone has ever lost recovery. and since the only thing that would mess with recovery inside the rom is rommanager im guess it did something. wierd. keep us updated.
    remember if you like the rom its me and gflam if you have problems its all chizzles fault.
  13. buellboy9
    Offline

    buellboy9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Yeah, I'm thinking ROM Manager did something hinky... It told me that there was an update to CWM, and without looking closely I said to go ahead and "flash the new ClockWorkMod Recovery." Only after I did that did I notice it flashed an OLDER version of CWM (I had the new Version 3, and it flashed the older version 2). That might be what did it.
  14. zerosouls
    Offline

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Ratings:
    +0
    You mentioned you had a problem moving an APP to SD... I noticed Sapphire and Sourcery have a problem moving APPS to SD the first time with a "Failed to move App" but if you try again right after that it works...

    But yea... I think running fix permissions during a fresh ROM boot might have mucked something up, it's sort of a fragile state to be performing high level system commands.
  15. Chizzele
    Offline

    Chizzele Team Sourcery Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Sourcery has a fix permission script built in.. Should help i believe in that event although i never had to use it. I never flashed using Rom Manager either so i'm not sure how to work it properly. I'm pretty sure my CWM version is outdated but it works so i don't mess with it.

    Per Eagle, if it doesn't work you can blame me... Eagle please send the user 80% of my pay :) .. actually make it 100% dancedroid

    Also Apps2SD always work for me as well. I think Rom manager might had a hand in your boot loop.