Installation of Boot Animation

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by GregNY, Jun 9, 2010.

  1. GregNY
    Offline

    GregNY New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey everyone, new to the forum. Just recently took it upon myself to get involved in rooting and what not so I am very much still learning. Found some good tutorials that has given me some basic knowledge and has guided me to root and install BB v 1.1 as well as the baseband update. Things are running smooth and I'm interested in now changing the boot animation but have yet to find some direct instruction on how to do so, particularly with using BB's great ROM. Could anyone point me in the right direction or give me a hand? Appreciate it greatly!
  2. titans
    Offline

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Use Root Explorer, navigate to system, then media, then delete bootanimation.zip, and place your custom one in its place. Make sure it's named bootanimation.zip
  3. bomber889
    Offline

    bomber889 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    I use Root Explorer, and put the bootanimation.zip in data>local
  4. GregNY
    Offline

    GregNY New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    using astro would work fine to paste the file?
  5. bomber889
    Offline

    bomber889 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    I don't think astro works because you can't access the files.
  6. GregNY
    Offline

    GregNY New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks everyone. got it using root explorer
  7. forkup
    Offline

    forkup New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Astro will not access /data at all nor will it remount /system as read/write.