1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Install custom launcher do u freeze stock homescreen?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 4' started by orangechoochoo, Mar 7, 2012.

  1. orangechoochoo
    Offline

    orangechoochoo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On a caboose
    After installing a custom launcher like Launcher Pro are you supposed to or should you freeze the stock home screen app?
  2. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Nope no need to. I also recommend downloading Home Smack from the market so you can switch back and forth if need be.
  3. orangechoochoo
    Offline

    orangechoochoo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On a caboose
    Could I freeze the stock homescreen app?
  4. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Yes you can, but I don't like too. Sometimes the alternate home replacement craps out and the stock home launcher will load as default. But yes you can freeze it.
  5. orangechoochoo
    Offline

    orangechoochoo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On a caboose
    Thanks! I will not freeze it. I thought it may solve the Ptolemy of the black screen I get until I press the home button.
  6. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    The what of your screen????
  7. chefboyardee
    Offline

    chefboyardee New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hahahaha...my guess is that's "problem" typed quickly on an on-screen keyboard and auto-corrected :) Surprisingly it's not the first time I've seen that word typed on a soft keyboard!
  8. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ah OK. Had to look it up. It didn't make sense. Lol.
  9. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    That's just lag. Try other launchers as well til you find one that works well for you. The more popular ones are Launcher Pro, ADW, and GO Launcher.
  10. orangechoochoo
    Offline

    orangechoochoo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On a caboose
    I just noticed my post was messed up. What I meant to say is that I get that lag with LauncherPro, so I tried the fix for this problem in terminal emulator but it caused my phone to go into a boot loop. I had to do a factory reset and I noticed the lag was on the stock launcher too.
  11. orangechoochoo
    Offline

    orangechoochoo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On a caboose
    I read on XDA that someone has a custom launcher and froze the stock launcher and saw significant battery life increase because when you have both launchers active the custom launcher is layered over the stock one.

    Is this true?
  12. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    I've never seen battery life issues doing either one. The replacement launcher replaces the stock launcher. The stock launcher doesn't run.
  13. orangechoochoo
    Offline

    orangechoochoo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On a caboose
    I tried it and noticed no difference too.
  14. a_lazy_dude
    Offline

    a_lazy_dude New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlantic Highlands, NJ
    This problem was really starting to tick me off too, mostly because I've been experiencing this since the days of the Droid 1. I had the same first mis-step as you when trying to apply the fix that used to work on my droid 1 and 3. I became determined to defeat it, and I believe I'm approaching a breakthrough. The problem, as I understand it, is some combination of a display buffer filling up (surfaceflinger, if I'm not mistaken) and the home application having the memory priority of a normal background application... so when that display buffer fills up, the space occupied by the home app is liable to be dumped. Then when you hit the home key, the application has to reload display buffer, and we're stuck waiting. I'm probably stating all this somewhat incorrectly, but I don't think I'm too far from the mark.

    Anyway, the solution I found is to give the home app a higher priority so that it is further down the kill list when the display buffer starts filling up. Here's what I did:
    0) You will need to be rooted to take advantage of this
    1) Download Auto Memory Manager
    2) In the app, hit 'menu', go to "running processes"
    3) Select "list", then hit 'menu', then "sort by name"
    4) Find your home app. In my case it was "Nemus Launcher" but yours sounds like it will be "LauncherPro"
    5) Tap on your launcher, and select "Always keep alive"
    6) The OOM Priority number next to your launcher should decrease significantly. Lower OOM Priorities are less likely to be closed than higher ones.

    That's it. One bummer is that android appears to reset these priorities as it sees fit, so you'll probably need to do this every now and then. I only did it for the first time a few days ago, and when I went in to check the priority while writing this, it had been reset. Not sure when that happened, but I'll see if I can notice a trend and update this post if I learn anything.

    EDIT: Looks like I may have spoken too soon. This setting appears to get reverted back to its original value within a few minutes. I'll continue looking into it though.
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2012
  15. Droid_Boi86
    Offline

    Droid_Boi86 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona[Central Park]
    Idk if this is like this for everyone but when I run a launcher other then the stock one, I get a "Force Close" of the home screen...

    I guess before switching launchers, have all Widgets, shortcuts removed from the launcher..

    Seems to work now..

    Sent from my rooted DROID4

    (Edited) jus seen the post above mine..
  16. finndo77
    Offline

    finndo77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been using ZEAM launcher and it seems to be pretty snappy, couple of things I'd like to see the dev add, but other than that it works good, is fast, and is so light it will never get dumped by out of memory issues.
Search tags for this page
android freeze home
,
android freeze stock launcher
,

android home screen freeze

,
can i freeze launcher
,
can u freeze stock launcher on droid 3
,
freeze android launcher
,
freeze homescreen launcher
,
freeze my stock launcher
,

freeze stock launcher

,

freeze your stock launcher.

,
how to freeze customize android home screen
,
how to freeze stock launcher
,
launcher android freeze
,
nexus freeze homescreen
,
stock launcher battery use?