Install custom launcher do u freeze stock homescreen?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 4' started by orangechoochoo, Mar 7, 2012.

  1. orangechoochoo

    orangechoochoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    On a caboose
    Ratings:
    +12
    After installing a custom launcher like Launcher Pro are you supposed to or should you freeze the stock home screen app?
     
  2. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +57
    Nope no need to. I also recommend downloading Home Smack from the market so you can switch back and forth if need be.
     
  3. orangechoochoo

    orangechoochoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    On a caboose
    Ratings:
    +12
    Could I freeze the stock homescreen app?
     
  4. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +57
    Yes you can, but I don't like too. Sometimes the alternate home replacement craps out and the stock home launcher will load as default. But yes you can freeze it.
     
  5. orangechoochoo

    orangechoochoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    On a caboose
    Ratings:
    +12
    Thanks! I will not freeze it. I thought it may solve the Ptolemy of the black screen I get until I press the home button.
     
  6. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +57
    The what of your screen????
     
  7. chefboyardee

    chefboyardee Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hahahaha...my guess is that's "problem" typed quickly on an on-screen keyboard and auto-corrected :) Surprisingly it's not the first time I've seen that word typed on a soft keyboard!
     
  8. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +57
    Ah OK. Had to look it up. It didn't make sense. Lol.
     
  9. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +57
    That's just lag. Try other launchers as well til you find one that works well for you. The more popular ones are Launcher Pro, ADW, and GO Launcher.
     
  10. orangechoochoo

    orangechoochoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    On a caboose
    Ratings:
    +12
    I just noticed my post was messed up. What I meant to say is that I get that lag with LauncherPro, so I tried the fix for this problem in terminal emulator but it caused my phone to go into a boot loop. I had to do a factory reset and I noticed the lag was on the stock launcher too.
     
  11. orangechoochoo

    orangechoochoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    On a caboose
    Ratings:
    +12
    I read on XDA that someone has a custom launcher and froze the stock launcher and saw significant battery life increase because when you have both launchers active the custom launcher is layered over the stock one.

    Is this true?
     
  12. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +57
    I've never seen battery life issues doing either one. The replacement launcher replaces the stock launcher. The stock launcher doesn't run.
     
Search tags for this page
android freeze home
,
android home screen freeze
,
can i freeze launcher
,
freeze android launcher
,
freeze homescreen launcher
,

freeze stock launcher

,
freeze your stock launcher.
,
how to freeze stock launcher
,
launcher android freeze
,
nexus freeze homescreen