1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Install and run Apps from SDcard instead of Internal Memory

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by jared1337, Jan 13, 2010.

  1. jared1337
    Offline

    jared1337 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there a safe way to install and run apps from my SDcard on my motorola droid? Does this slow the phone down? Is it faster to have the apps installed on the internal memory or SDcard?
  2. Guchi
    Offline

    Guchi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    that would be cool hu. i dont think it is an option right now though
  3. jared1337
    Offline

    jared1337 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ya, because you run out of space too. When is android 2.1 for the motorola droid supposed to be OFFICIALLY released if your on verizon?
  4. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Running apps from the SD card is not supported on Android at this time. It is, supposedly in the works though. One note though, you will need a better SD card when it is supported. The SD card included with most Droids is only a class 2, generally for running apps you want class 4 or higher (the Droid itself supports up to level 6).
  5. pinesal
    Offline

    pinesal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't bother. We don't need it on DROID unless apps get a lot bigger. Having apps on SD complicates the Nandroid. When I had the G1 with apps to SD Nandroid restore alway broke some apps and I had to resinstall them and set them up again.
  6. jared1337
    Offline

    jared1337 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How can you tell what level your sdcard is?
  7. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it should say. like a little c2
    the stock that come with the droid are 2
  8. jared1337
    Offline

    jared1337 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    are class6 way more expensive than class 2?
  9. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Not to bad. Saw 16G class 4 and 6 on newegg for like $40 last week.
  10. RW-1
    Offline

    RW-1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Considering class is most likely speed, would going to a higher class improve functionality with, say, the gallery, or other apps that would be accessing data from the SD?
  11. mrZoSo
    Offline

    mrZoSo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    GA from Philly PA
    Yeah class is speed. I'm running a class 6 and you can tell the difference.
  12. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Yes but only likely minimally unless you're dealing with HUGE files. The transfer speed increase is usually only noticeable when running programs and streaming large amounts of data (i.e. recording/playing video). For pics and mp3s and stuff like that it's not really to big a difference. But this will depend on how often you use them. I only view picks and do media every now and then (few times a day maybe) so it's no big deal. If you use media frequently it might be worth trying to catch one on a discount.

    Note: the main 'visible' increase is from 2 to 4, class 6 won't be very noticeable over class 4 unless you get to REALLY large files or running larger programs. You can often find good class 4s at WalMart for cheap. IMHO class 6 is overpriced considering on Video camera's ect are really 'optimized' for them or need that transfer rate.
  13. Droidster163
    Offline

    Droidster163 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So if they began to support running apps from the SD card, would that be on newer phones that come out only. Or will we be able to update our phone's software to support it? I guess i'm trying to figure out if our phone IS capable of doing it.
  14. Big Cam
    Offline

    Big Cam New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Can you currently check the available memory left of the phones internal memory?
  15. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    The hardware of the Moto Droid supports class 6 cards as does the OS. You can see a difference now if your usage warrants it. We are just waiting for the OS to support the ability to 'run' programs from the card. So when Android supports it our phones will get it in the updated software IF that version/update comes to our phone. So if it is in 2.* series ROM yes, but I doubt it will be. Probably series 3 ROM at the earliest and, so far at least Android phones generally don't upgrade ROMs (though the Eris will be the first, so there is hope).

    As posted above though there's not much reason for it though. The largest app I have found so far (that I use anyway) is still under 50M and it is HUGE compared to every other app. It's Sweeter Home and it includes the editing tools to build homescreens. Every other program that most people use is tiny by comparison so space really isn't a concern for 90%+ of users so there's really no rush.
  16. Berzerker
    Offline

    Berzerker New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Most likely, yes. But once you open something that accesses the SD, the contents are cached in RAM and it's pretty fast the next time you open it.
  17. evilsock
    Offline

    evilsock New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    knox county TN
    LUCID REM? apps 2 sd?anone get that working?
  18. LrdElderon
    Offline

    LrdElderon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think I read that too, but google or someone were saying that in order for this to happen they need android to encrypt everything that goes onto the card so that people can't steal apps from the sd card like they can now with root.... rofl I'm sure someone will find a way, but it's that DRM type crap that's holding it back.

    one other thing and it's probably not a huge issue, but how much extra wear and tear would running from the sd put on the card? I know they don't want to use it as a cache or swap space source because sd cards degrade with high use... or well probably any use really.
  19. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    A lot. It's common for WM users that run their programs to burn through cards regularly. Seems that the higher speeds (i.e. class 6) burn even quicker, IMHO. Probably another reason Google hasn't really been pressing the issue yet. So for the $$$ it really isn't worth it unless you for some reason need an ungodly number of apps.
  20. jasonb
    Offline

    jasonb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After I clear all my caches I still have around 220 or so MB's left on the internal memory. I have all the Apps I want and have barely even began to use the available memory that we have. At first I was a little concerned with the amount of available memory, but most apps are tiny. I don't think I will ever be anywhere near filling it up.
Search tags for this page
android run from phone or sdcard
,
apps run slpwer on sd card android
,
do apps run slower on sd card
,
do apps run slower on sd cards
,
do apps run slower sd card
,
does having apps on sd card make it run better
,
droid install apps on sd card
,
droid run apps from sd card
,

how to run apps off sd card android

,
is there a way to instal apps on your sd card instead of int
,
run app from sd vs internal memory
,

run apps from sd card android

,
running android 4.1.2 apps from sd card
,
running app on sd card on android
,
runs slower from card than internal memory