1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Initial Experiences/Review

Discussion in 'Casio G'zOne Commando' started by crabbybahstid, May 2, 2011.

1. crabbybahstid

crabbybahstid New Member

It's been entertaining so far. Most of the issues are my teething problems with the Droid OS, I think as in that area I'm a rank noob. Throw in the obvious differences between the way these devices work and the CrackBerry I was used to, and I'm confronted by some learning.

First, and fortunately, it's pretty intuitive. Which is fortunate, because there's no manual, just the "tips and shortcuts" flyer from VZW. That flyer is largely useless; you'll figure those things out in the first couple hours. I'm going to scout around for a print (best) manual, because I'm a RTFM kinda guy.

The phone part appears very good. I can hear, the party on the other end can hear. It's a little strange in that to answer, there's not virtual "button" to push if you're in snooze mode, you have to slide the action button toward "answer." I missed the first couple calls because of that.

A bonus is that it appears to provide a better signal through the car Bluetooth (MINI Cooper) than the BB did. It hooks up completely, including my full contact list/phonebook. That's a little slow, requiring at least a minute. We have notoriously bad reception at the house, but it seems to pick up okay. At home, I turn on the WiFi for mail and web, as I figure the battery will work less that way than straining for the 3G signal.

Browsing is very fast, either via 3G where there's good signal, or WiFi at home.