1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

[INFO] If you want to Unlock your Bootloader, Read this!!!

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR M' started by KaChow, Apr 10, 2013.

  1. KaChow
    Offline

    KaChow Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    148
    Trophy Points:
    43
    I have constructed a thread [TOOL] Easy Unlock Bootloader Komplete, which is geared for those of us that want an Unlocked Bootloader. As you may or may not be aware Dan Rosenberg cracked Motorola's "efuse" 256 bit encryption that locked our bootloader, a few days ago. So, the devices that are able to gain an Unlocked Bootloader are the Droid Razr M, Razr HD, Razr Maxx HD, and the Atrix HD. When Unlocking your Bootloader You Must Have Root> and the Bootloader unlock works on 4.0.4, 4.1.1, and 4.1.2. Please see this thread for more details and information, Post #2 gives some general information about Bootloaders, for those who want to understand more.

    If you do have root please start with the "let's begin..."
  2. lowvolt
    Offline

    lowvolt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you. One question. Does this have to be done from stock ROM? I am assuming so.
  3. KaChow
    Offline

    KaChow Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    148
    Trophy Points:
    43
    I don't think it matters what the ROM is. As long as you have Root, it works. I Unlocked in 4.1.1, all my data remained the same. If it is ROM built on the parameters of your device, it shouldn't matter to Unlock your Bootloader.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2
  4. lowvolt
    Offline

    lowvolt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here's another issue. I have safe strap but it doesn't show up in my app drawer. Also under settings apps all apps it doesn't show up.
  5. KaChow
    Offline

    KaChow Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    148
    Trophy Points:
    43
    The best way to get rid of Safestrap is go ahead download and install the app> then once inside the app, select the Uninstall Recovery option> once it has been uninstalled go into Settings> Apps> All> then Uninstall the Safestrap application. I suggest going into your Internal Storage and deleteing anything that is "Safestrap/TWRP". However, on your SD Card you can keep the TWRP folder which holds Safestrap Backups, if you plan to use TWRP Version 2.5 keep in mind these Safestrap backups may and I mention may, as I have not confirmed this yet, may be usable through TWRP's Recovery with an Unlocked Bootloader.

    Here is the link to download Safestrap version 3.12.

    Keep in mind and I should have mentioned this in my previous response, when your device starts from a reboot or Power on, it is the Bootloader that starts> then it is the ROM. The Bootloader is separate of the ROM, so a custom ROM should not effect Unlocking the Bootloader.
  6. lowvolt
    Offline

    lowvolt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks. I figured I would have to install .apk again. I could not find it. I appreciate your help. With the unlocked boot loader can I still flash ROMs same as before?
  7. KaChow
    Offline

    KaChow Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    148
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Flashing is different, Safestrap uses ROM slots> custom Recovery we don't need that. Same theory, download the ROM, GAPPS, THEME, WHATEVER to your SD card. Here use this app, it eliminates shortcuts. Use this app> select Recovery> select Install> and go ahead download everything. I do suggest making backups if you like a particular ROM setup, and of course look out for Custom Kernels which we should see shortly, and also try out CM10(ICS) or CM10.1(JB) if you'd like. With these custom Recoveries there is no need to see "dead Androids" to access Recovery, its a nice thing.
  8. lowvolt
    Offline

    lowvolt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay I am doing it. It says "Unlocking Phone" and a cursor is blinking under that. The phone screen keeps coming on and going off. Is this all right? I am hoping I will get some sort of notification when it is done.

    Edit: Looks like we are in. Now for the recovery part.
  9. KaChow
    Offline

    KaChow Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    148
    Trophy Points:
    43
    You should see: Unlocked , then there is a message 3 or something. The below was my Computers display.

    61891-loving-unlock-we-need-unlocked-thread-untitled.png
  10. lowvolt
    Offline

    lowvolt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I am not sure of that. I guess I should have payed more attention. I am trying to flash the recovery now and it seems like it is taking forever. Still making the screen come on and go off. The tool says "Lets do this" and under that it say "2528 kb/s <7606272 bytes in 2.937s>" and there is a flashing cursor under that.

    Edit: scared the crap out of me! When it finished it rebooted the phone. A droid and a triangle came up. Thought I was Bricked. Power and volume down rebooted.
    Shouldn't it have rebooted into recovery?

    Edit: Everytime I boot to recovery I get that Droid lying on his back with the door open and a triangle with an explanation point sticking out of him. Maybe the unlock didn't take.
  11. KaChow
    Offline

    KaChow Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    148
    Trophy Points:
    43
    If you have any troubles with it, just pull the connection, close it out> reboot the device. And start it over again, the ADB methods that provide the one-click which is great, may take a second or more attempt to get it to go through.
  12. lowvolt
    Offline

    lowvolt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The screen shot you posted is not the same message I get when the unlocker tool finishes. I would post a shot for you but don't know how to take one. trying it for the third time.
  13. lowvolt
    Offline

    lowvolt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay! Little tid bit of info here. When tool says "unlocking phone" make sure you unlock the phone and grant SU permission. Duh, SMH, It went so fast when I decided to do that. lol


    Edit: I flashed TWRP and when I boot into recovery it goes there but it is big. Doesnt fit the screen and has no functionality. Can't press any icons and a paddle lock comes up. Any insight?
  14. shane1
    Offline

    shane1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ny
    that happened to me the other day thats the razr hd version of twrp its not compatable with the razr m because of the screen size.
  15. lowvolt
    Offline

    lowvolt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So can I just reflash clockworkmod over that then or how do I go about doing that
  16. KaChow
    Offline

    KaChow Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    148
    Trophy Points:
    43
    All you need to do is go into "Recovery Flasher V3"> hit the "run.bat"> instead of selecting 1) for TWRP, select the 2) for ClockWorkMod. I haven't played around with CWM yet, but there is an app in the Playstore called ROM Manager and there is an upgrade as well. I do know that ROM Manager has not updated yet to include our devices, which soon or shortly they will. Anyways installing CWM in the Recovery Flasher is considered a "manual" installation in terms of compatiability with the ROM Manager app. Here is the link for ROM Manager> which will eventually fully-support our devices.
  17. shane1
    Offline

    shane1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ny
    thats probably the cw for the hd also. no?
  18. KaChow
    Offline

    KaChow Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    148
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Correct. CWM is made to support nearly all devices that have an Unlocked Bootloader, such as HTC, and Samsung most popular. Which the CWM app presently supports the Motorola Photon (however, do not select that recovery as our devices are still very much differet.) It will be a matter of time until ROM Manager fully-supports our Motorola device line Razr HD, Razr Maxx HD, Atrix HD, and Razr M, until then the manual Recovery found on Recovery Flasher V3 will be an excellent option and more apparent option for Razr M users.
  19. Tucstwo
    Offline

    Tucstwo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you guys have an existing copy of TWRP or CWM for the Razr M, please post me a link. I will be more than happy to port my tool to work with the Razr M as well. It's not very hard to do.
    1 person likes this.
Search tags for this page
bootloader unlock without pc
,
droid x2 bootloader
,

droid x2 bootloader unlock

,
droid x2 unlock bootloader
,
droid x2 unlocked bootloader
,

how to unlock bootloader without computer

,

how to unlock bootloader without pc

,

unlock bootloader droid x2

,
unlock bootloader no computer
,

unlock bootloader no pc

,
unlock bootloader on droid x2
,

unlock bootloader without computer

,

unlock bootloader without pc

,
unlock droid x2 bootloader
,
unlocking bootloader without pc