Increase VM Heap Size?

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod' started by 1slyez, Mar 13, 2011.

  1. 1slyez

    1slyez New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    In some other ROMs the maximum VM Heap size is substantially higher than with CM7. I think one goes to 60 or 64 where as CM7 is maxed at 32. My device seeme to operate with more available free memory in these roms with the high VM heap size. Is there a way to increase the maximum size in CM7, or has the max size been determined to be 32 for a good reason? Is this setting kernel based, so would switching kernels give me different options for this? Thanks.
     
  2. jeffv2

    jeffv2 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    south jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah... it should be under /data/property or something like that, it will be a file that says persistant.vm.heap.size or something close to that (I don't have cm on my phone anymore) but you can edit that file & it will be persistant on boot and with new updates

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  3. 1slyez

    1slyez New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    awesome. thanks. Now when I change that text file it will operate at the setting I input even though the number I select doesn't show up in the cyanogenmod settings gui? Also do I need to select numbers that increase in any certain way(ie: even numbers; 2,4,8,16,32, etc?) or can I pick any number?
     
  4. fused2explode

    fused2explode Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make it an even number but no, you don't have to jump between 32 and 64. I wouldn't go higher than 44 though.

    F2E

    Sent from CM7 RC2
     
  5. gambit07

    gambit07 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    There's a setting in CM now for 40
     
  6. fused2explode

    fused2explode Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What build #? #14 (RC2) only goes to 32.

    F2E

    Sent from CM7 RC2
     
  7. jengas kahn

    jengas kahn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    upstate
    Ratings:
    +1
    in winner's build/mod there's an option for 40
     
  8. afallucco

    afallucco Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What you using now? Miui?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  9. winner00

    winner00 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Utah
    Ratings:
    +10
    My build has it defaulted to 40. It also has the option to change it to 40 in CM Settings.
     
  10. jaycemiskel

    jaycemiskel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,360
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +2
    I believe winner added that in there himself. I don't think it's an actual Cyanogen Mod option. At least it hasn't been in any of the builds I've used. Quick question, I know upping the heap size allows apps to use more memory but how does that help overall memory usage?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  11. jeffv2

    jeffv2 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    south jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    It just makes each heap size larger. which sucks for devices like ours with 256mb of ram...

    Sent From My Droid Without Spell Checker
     
  12. jaycemiskel

    jaycemiskel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,360
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +2
    Ok that's what I thought. So really that wouldn't make the phone have more free memory like the op suggested.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  13. jeffv2

    jeffv2 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    south jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its worse when you put the heap size up... I get fc's if a app even begins to slow down.

    Sent From My Droid Without Spell Checker
     
  14. 1slyez

    1slyez New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    well then for whatever reason PE and Liquid both seemed to have significantly more free memory than CM7. They are just not as smooth on my D1.
     
  15. jeffv2

    jeffv2 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    south jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    idk i keep my heap size @ 24m because it seems thats whats best. we dont have alot of memory and i think the dx with 512mb has 40m heap sizes
     
Search tags for this page

cm7 vm heap size

,
cyanogen vm heap size
,
dalvik cache heap size
,
dalvik heap size
,
increase vm heap size android
,
vm heap size
,

vm heap size cm7

,
vm heap size cyanogenmod
,
vm heap size for 512mb ram
,
what is vm heap size cyanogen