1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Increase camera video quality!

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by jamko101, Feb 1, 2010.

  1. jamko101
    Offline

    jamko101 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    WA
    There has been plenty of news and talk about overclocking, ROMs, and wireless tether lately so lets take a little break and talk of some other great hacks.

    The great guys over at AllDroid were able go into some system files and modify a couple parameters that allowed better video quality when recording via the camera. For all those who don't follow whats going on over at AllDroid, this little hack will be of news to many. I always enjoy trying to max out the capabilities of my gadgets, and I'm sure you guys do as well... or else you wouldn't be in the "hacks" sections :)

    Information and steps to perform the hack are all included in this link:

    **Link Deleted**

    Doing this will cause video files to be much larger in size, but we gotta fill up those extra GBs somehow.. make sure you have root access or else this won't work. There are a bunch of guys on that forum performing different tests by changing the parameters to try to get the highest quality, follow along to see what they come up with!
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 9, 2010
  2. Droidlicous
    Offline

    Droidlicous New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    I have the Smoke Glass Rom and it must of already done this because mine was already at 8mps
  3. Jpump
    Offline

    Jpump New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just did this. Looks clearer, but videos are huge.
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2010
  4. Bear in NM
    Offline

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Line 94 (easy to see in Notepad++ a free program) will be 3000000 on the stock file, and any number up to usually 8000000 if your rom has this tweak in place.

    While the files are large, it is a cool option. The other thing to not overlook is that you also have a low setting to be used for recording and sending as attachments. In video settings screen (on the phone in video mode).

    Depending on what you typically do with videos, you can fiddle with either setting to customize your phone with the way you shoot videos and what you like to do with them afterwards. The bottom line is that while the files are large, the phone is much more capable than the way it comes from the factory.

    Craig
  5. jnd121
    Offline

    jnd121 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there a fix so that the camera quality isn't so horrible? :frown:
  6. phatkat66
    Offline

    phatkat66 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bump! Definitely would love to tweak the auto focus, the cam pix is amazin when the autofocus actually FOCUS' other times it looks like some kinda pic i took while running its jus really blurry
  7. Logan3824
    Offline

    Logan3824 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Changed mine to run at 8mp, videos are definitely much bigger, but I love the new quality...If you want good quality and want to save space...Change it to 600000 instead of 800000
  8. GOON
    Offline

    GOON New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    does this mean that when we upload to youtube the videos will be better quality there too?
  9. mikedav1
    Offline

    mikedav1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly PA
    There is a hack for that as well.
    Force Youtube to Default to HQ | Root Your Droid
    I just re-read. This hack is for d/l from YouTube.
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2010
  10. GOON
    Offline

    GOON New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    No. I ment when we record videos via droid and then upload videos to youtube.
    They look better. Yea?
  11. 640k
    Offline

    640k New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    that just fixes what you see, not what you upload.

    i saw this over at alldroid the other day. haven't done it yet. does it get rid of the cmos artifcating completely (plane shake)?
  12. jamko101
    Offline

    jamko101 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    WA
    Essentially yes, this does mean you will have higher quality when you upload to youtube. To see the difference you would probably need to watch the video in HQ. Not sure how much they downgrade for standard watching
  13. GOON
    Offline

    GOON New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    what splane shake? I think i hate it
  14. 640k
    Offline

    640k New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the only way i can describe cmos artifacting... as in, something that lies on a plane, your camera image, and it shakes on that plane.

    think, looking at a flat screen and then someone shakes it back and forth.
  15. Psychokitty
    Offline

    Psychokitty New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for this thread/heads up on this.

    640k, you're a great liaison between folks such as myself and developers. For me, one question will ultimately lead to many more follow-ups, and most developers would never be able to get anything accomplished if they spent all their time explaining things.
  16. beneharris
    Offline

    beneharris New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    portland
    they included this with the new bugless beast right?
  17. dugjay
    Offline

    dugjay New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nice stuff here but alas, i'm not a tekkie and def not cozy rooting the droid. is there an app that will boost quality and/or allow the video camera to use the light on the droid?
  18. Psychokitty
    Offline

    Psychokitty New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not as far as I know, dugjay. I think you have to root to do any better with the video.
    As far as the light being used while recording, I'm not so sure that's such a good idea. I use the mototorch app once in a while, but I'm always careful not to keep it on for very long. That's just me being worried about the light- I think it's a bit over-volted to produce exceptional brightness, which should be fine for longevity so long as it's not getting too hot. The thought being that you couldn't leave a regular digital camera xenon bulb on for very long at the intensity they are set to and expect it not to burn out. But I have no data, it's just my opinion.
    Also not sure about the practicality of the light during video recording. It would only do any good recording in the dark, in which case I have to ask what it is your recording! LOL
  19. ronimous
    Offline

    ronimous New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Must already be changed in the *****in bagel ROM. Mine reads 9Mbps...
  20. Psychokitty
    Offline

    Psychokitty New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just installed that last night, ronimous. Where do you see that info? Is it in the system/build.prop file?
Search tags for this page
android camera resolution hack
,
android increase camera frame fps
,
android increase camera frame rate
,
change droid razor too record in higher frame rates
,
contact jpump.com.my loc:us
,
getprop ro.media.enc.hprof.vid.bps
,
how to increase android camera fps
,
increase camera fps android
,
increase fps android camera
,
ro.media.enc.hprof.aud.bps
,
ro.media.enc.hprof.codec.vid
,

ro.media.enc.hprof.vid.bps

,
ro.media.enc.hprof.vid.bps galaxy note 2
,
ro.media.enc.hprof.vid.bps maximum
,

ro.media.enc.hprof.vid.fps