1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Incorrect area code (617) for rooted leaked 2.2

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by ccomengee86, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. ccomengee86
    Offline

    ccomengee86 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a leaked rooted 2.2 and it gives me wrong area code(617) every time I try to call someone using only 7 digits (without area code). Is there any way to fix it?
  2. Section Twelve
    Offline

    Section Twelve New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Right behind you...
    Where do you live?
  3. Garandhero
    Offline

    Garandhero New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    617 is boston area code right?
  4. Section Twelve
    Offline

    Section Twelve New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Right behind you...
    Yeah, it covers a few areas of Boston.
  5. ccomengee86
    Offline

    ccomengee86 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I live in Ohio...
  6. Section Twelve
    Offline

    Section Twelve New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Right behind you...
    Wow. So they sent you a refurbished phone then.

    Uh... hmm... I am trying to remember where to change it, but I can't find it or remember it.
  7. ccomengee86
    Offline

    ccomengee86 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's not possible. I picked mine up the day it came out. July 15th. I didn't have this issue when I got it. I think it happened after manually updating it to froyo.
  8. ViciousCircle
    Offline

    ViciousCircle Android Addict Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did the ota update and have only rooted the phone. Other than that I am stock and I also see the 617 area code. I'm also in Ohio.
  9. ViciousCircle
    Offline

    ViciousCircle Android Addict Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay, I did a factory reset and all seems fine now with the area code. Restored all apps via Titanium.
  10. ViciousCircle
    Offline

    ViciousCircle Android Addict Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Damn, for some reason the 617 area code thing is back... anyone find any other solutions yet?
  11. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Maybe you should unroot and bring it into vzw.

    -Droid Does
  12. kdub8990
    Offline

    kdub8990 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Had the same happen to me with same area code. I am running the Liberty rom and I got it to quit by using bootstrapper to flash back to a restore point I made right after I installed the Liberty rom (not quite a factory reset). I never used google voice or downloaded any strange apps so not sure why it started adding the wrong area code.
  13. -iD
    Offline

    -iD New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i had this issue 6 months ago and never resolved it, then again today, but with better luck. found this somewhere else, so i take no credit, but it does solve the problem.

    cheers!

    i had indeed used autostarts a yesterday and not remembering why i would have disabled this call to dialer on a new outgoing call, i'd re-enabled it. silly me.

    :)
Search tags for this page
default dialing is 617 area code
,
google voice 617 area code wont call
,

wrong area code when dialing android