1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Incoming Notification Vibrations broken BB Froyo

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by DigiK, Jun 28, 2010.

  1. DigiK
    Offline

    DigiK New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I've observed 'vibrate on incoming notifications' to be broken with all BB Froyo 2.2 releases thus far. Can anyone verify this?

    Thanks!
  2. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    mine seems to vibrate fine on notifications.
  3. DigiK
    Offline

    DigiK New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Hmm...interesting considering v.1 was a full wipe for me. If no one else is having this issue, it looks like back to tabula rasa for me with a fresh intall. =|
  4. GirLuvsDroid
    Offline

    GirLuvsDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    DigiK, before you start all over from scratch, have you gone into Setting>Sound and set your vibrate settings there? They're different in Froyo than they were in 2.1 and before.
  5. DigiK
    Offline

    DigiK New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Yeah, I've checked my notification settings a thousand times and no dice, GirlLuvsDroid. At worst, I'll take ten minutes later, do a quick backup/wipe, and see if I have any luck. It's definitely not a hardware issue, though, since user input haptic feedback works.
  6. GirLuvsDroid
    Offline

    GirLuvsDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    Well, I thought it was worth a shot before you go back to square one. Good luck!
  7. Jonny121
    Offline

    Jonny121 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm having the same issue. I've had the same problem with all 2.2 roms I've tried including cyanogen rc1. I go into settings->sounds->vibrate and set it to always. And it never vibrates when i get a notification (eg. a text or email) It does however vibrate when I receive a phone call. So, I'm not really sure what's going on here.

    Also the silent mode doesn't seem to be working correctly. I'm using the newest leak FRG01B at the moment and if I go into settings-> sound and then use the volume button to put the phone on silent, the silent mode box is checked. If i then long press the power button to turn off silent mode, it says that silent mode is off. something is definitely wrong here.
  8. ZeroBarrier
    Offline

    ZeroBarrier New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you guys running a kernel with a 125Mhz low slot by any chance?

    Just throwing some ideas out there. I know people say that 125Mhz slot kernels work great with Froyo, but you never know, every Droid is different in it's own regard.
  9. Jonny121
    Offline

    Jonny121 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I haven't installed any custom kernels or anything, Atm the build I'm running is using Kernel Version 2.6.32.0-g103d848 android-build@apa26 #1
  10. ZeroBarrier
    Offline

    ZeroBarrier New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK, then I'm fresh out of ideas, might as well try a good wipe.

    I always wipe no matter what ROM I'm going to install; I even wipe between BB versions (always tripe wipe boot, system, data and cache), I'm just so damn quirky that way, lol.
  11. DigiK
    Offline

    DigiK New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I corrected this after I realized a 2.2 update for Audio Manager had added an enable/disable radio button for notification vibrations. Despite having system settings correct, it took re-enabling notification vibrate from Audio Manager. If you don't have the app, try downloading it and checking your settings there before you wipe.
  12. Jonny121
    Offline

    Jonny121 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just flashed on this rom today, and I did a full wipe/factory reset through sprecovery.

    Also, I had installed rom manager and flashed on clockworkmod from it, it broke the recovery console lol. I coulnd't boot into recovery at all. Had to re-flash sprecovery; no more clockworkmod for me.
  13. Jonny121
    Offline

    Jonny121 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0