1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

In preparation of ICS with root tool mods

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by thaDroidz, Apr 3, 2012.

  1. thaDroidz
    Offline

    thaDroidz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    neptune
    Will the pull down editor and boot animations changes affect the OTA?

    The boot is an easy fix, but the pull down has me stumbled. Would just changing back to Verizon Wireless be effective? It basically changed the build prop somewhere, RIGHT? Or do I need to pull that prop from my backup?
    If so where is it located I forget.. (use to do things manually on the d1, MAXX got me lazy)

    ----posted maxx'ed out----
  2. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,606
    Likes Received:
    820
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    From what I have "heard", your phone must be completely stock, no bloatware either frozen or deleted, no mods, current 173 Rom, no root, essentially completely stock. That sounds pretty much like you have some work ahead of you.

    Here's the link to get you going again! Good luck! http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-razr-hacks/198379-updated-droid-razr-utility-windows.html

    ;)
  3. thaDroidz
    Offline

    thaDroidz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    neptune
    I got most bases covered, pretty much wondering if changing the custom text back to " Verizon Wireless" via root tools will do.. guess I'll find out when an OTA gets here..
    Worse case I'll just nandroid back or flash a stock image.

    Thanks

    ----posted maxx'ed out----
  4. Concistency
    Offline

    Concistency New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis
    You have to be completely stock (FXZ) or you will most likely run into a installation abort error due to something, these can be little minor things. FXZ beats the hassle of trying to figure out errors.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  5. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,606
    Likes Received:
    820
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    FXZ?? Please explain what that acronym stands for.


    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk with speech to text translation. Please excuse any minor grammatical/punctuation/spelling errors.
  6. thaDroidz
    Offline

    thaDroidz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    neptune
    Quick Google brought up a bunch of bionic factory looking restores.. never did see what it actually means

    ----posted maxx'ed out----
  7. Concistency
    Offline

    Concistency New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis
    FXZ files stock. You can then use the utilities on the Site and RSD to stock. When your going back on the upgrade path its always good to do this. When I first started rooting and stuff I tried installing updates manually and got errors and tried troubleshooting for like two hours straight lol.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
Search tags for this page

root tools for ics