1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Imports

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by tehpriest, Feb 24, 2010.

  1. tehpriest
    Offline

    tehpriest New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales. UK
    I have been reading around this forum and it appears that the "DROID" is a much better choice than the "Milestone" for functionality and expansion. Can anyone tell me if a DROID from another country could be used in the UK? I may then look into importing one.

    Thanks.
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Droid is exclusive to Verizon Wireless so unless there is Verizon in the UK, and I highly doubt that then no. My understanding is Milestone is similar to Droid.
  3. tehpriest
    Offline

    tehpriest New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales. UK
    I know this may sound a little dumb but why can I not take a UK mobile network sim card and put it into a Verizon Droid?
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Not a dumb question at all. It's a good question, I don't have an answer for that.
  5. lockman
    Offline

    lockman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Verizon is CDMA, doesn't use SIM cards. Europe is GSM. Not compatible.
  6. tehpriest
    Offline

    tehpriest New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales. UK
    So is there a DROID which will work with a UK sim card? According to the many threads on this forum it has many advantages not least is that it is not locked down. Or is there a Milestone anywhere that is not locked down like the Euro versions?
  7. christim
    Offline

    christim Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    There is no place on a Droid to place a sim card. The Droid and the Milestone are similar yet have different chipsets. The Droid would not work on the European cell tower network. Research the Milestone as I think that is what you want. It got the built in multi touch browser first and that app got applied to the Droid. I think that whatever runs on one can run on the other.
  8. tehpriest
    Offline

    tehpriest New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales. UK
    It seems not. Well not without rooting/jailbreaking it anyway and that voids the warranty. And for instance Google maps directions cannot be installed on the UK version only a paid for version from another software company.