Importing Contacts using Verizon Backup Assistant?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by jdrick, Apr 2, 2010.

  1. jdrick
    Offline

    jdrick New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Waterloo, IA
    Just got my Droid, and ran backup assistant on my old phone... now it appears the Droid doesn't work with Backup Assistant... anyone try this on Verizon? Any suggestions on how to export to a csv file from a phone? I could import to google if I could find out how to export csv version from old phone...

    Thanks!
  2. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,631
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    For this to work you have to have an online account set-up with them. If you already have that you should be able to get to your contacts within the online area. Should be able to get to it from http://www.getbackupnow.com/.That is where you export your CSV file from. The backup assistant syncs it with the verizon databases for your phone.
  3. jdrick
    Offline

    jdrick New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Waterloo, IA
    when I go to contacts on the My Verizon section of my account, the little "Gear", when I move my mouse over it has the circle with the line thru it (like do not enter).... and the "sync" button doesn't do anything
  4. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,631
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    So while in the contacts area? or prior to getting to the contacts area you have the circle with a line through it?
  5. jdrick
    Offline

    jdrick New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Waterloo, IA
    in the contacts area... all the contacts are there, but the little gear, which I believe is where the xport function is, is not active for me..
  6. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,631
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    I wish i still had access to mine, but from what i remembered there was just a link on the contacts page that said "export to csv" i don't remember it being in a menu, but of course this was before they changed around their website again.
  7. jdrick
    Offline

    jdrick New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Waterloo, IA
    I've scoured it.. no luck.. I figured I'd be able to load backup assistant on the droid , but guess not!

    Thanks for tryin'!
  8. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,631
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    If you can't get it to work, you should just call up verizon and see if they can get you to it, if not taking it to a verizon store, they should be able to get the csv for you and install it on your droid for you if you want. That's all they did when i upgraded, they just did the same thing, and i ended up with a csv file in the root of my droid with all my contacts.
  9. alm0614
    Offline

    alm0614 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you should be able to log into My Verizon on your computer and export as a .csv then upload that into your gmail contacts and that will sync with your phone
  10. jdrick
    Offline

    jdrick New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Waterloo, IA
    Thanks for the info.... I will call Verizon.... I have searched all of my verizon, and in the contacts area none of the "tools" (the gear icon" are active on my phone account since I switched to the Droid
  11. bowhuntr09
    Offline

    bowhuntr09 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA
    I was just able to do this last Saturday when I got my droid. I cant do it today. I think its just disabled due to their website change and they will probably enable it soon.
  12. jdrick
    Offline

    jdrick New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Waterloo, IA
    Thanks for the info... interesting.. I sent their support an email to see if they can share with me what's goin on...
  13. Vietnamwees
    Offline

    Vietnamwees New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I figured out your problem.

    1-Goto Verizon online Backup Assistant website, after your contacts load, NEXT to the gear thing to export your contacts, you need to click "Select All" first, because I guess you need to choose which contacts you want to interact with, then click the gear dropdown menu and click "Export"

    2-Goto your gmail, click "Contacts" on the left side, towards the top. Click More Actions ---> Import

    3-Go to your phone, then setup your gmail, then sync it, and you should have all your contacts on your phone.

    I had the same problem, but then I read this thread, than discovered how to do the Contact Export on vzw.com Kind of a roundabout way that involves both gmail and Backup Assistant, but it works.
  14. anitamargaritaontherocks
    Offline

    anitamargaritaontherocks New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Backup Assistant creamed my Droid X Contacts when I restored them after a hard reset. It wiped out all of the contacts I had that were organizations. Now, I'm afraid of Backup Assistant. Even the guy I bought the phone from at Verizon said not to use it.

    So, I have just backed up my contacts to my SD card. Do you know if I can import them directly from the SD card without having to go through Google?
Search tags for this page
how to export contacts from backup assistant
,
how to get contacts from backup assistant
,
how to get contacts from backup assistant verizon
,
how to get contacts off backup assistant
,
how to retrieve backup assistant
,

how to retrieve contacts from backup assistant

,
how to retrieve contacts from verizon backup assistant
,
how to upload contacts from verizon backup assistant
,
import contacts from verizon backup assistant
,
import verizon contacts
,
importing contacts from backupassistant to new droid
,
retrieve backup assistant contacts