IMPORTANT: Significant difference in bionic fw that causes radio and battery issues

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Roms' started by buckmarble, Dec 16, 2011.

  1. buckmarble
    Offline

    buckmarble Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Since I've been working on theming for the d3, specifically my rom MavRom, and I found an xml in the framework-res.apk that differs between the bionic and the d3. The xml for the d3 contains values pertaining to the cpu and radio where the bionic one contains no cpu information and different radio values. I was having issues staying connected to google(when icons go blue) and battery usage stats had the discrepancy of cell standby as the biggest user, and battery life was sparatic.

    Anyway, after replacing the xml with the stock d3 one, battery usage stats returned to normal, performance has improved, and google is staying connected and not being dropped. So I am advising that themes are properly ported over to the d3 from the bionic rather than flashing the theme as is. The name of the file is power_profile.xml found in framework-res.apk > res>xml

    Let me know if you have any questions.


    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  2. Juicemane
    Offline

    Juicemane Bang Bang Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    mind throwing up the file so I can compare the xml files from my wip theme, i used the framework straight from Steel Droid so I have no idea which xml is the correct D3 one.

    Thanks!
  3. buckmarble
    Offline

    buckmarble Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Download any bionic theme and decompile fwres.apk. Browse to res>xml for the file in framework-res.apk. in the d3 one you will see values for the cpu that the bionic one does not have, thats the easiest way to tell.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2011
  4. Endoroid
    Offline

    Endoroid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried pulling the power_profile.xml from my stock framework and inserting it into my current rom(liberty)but i always end up with my boot animation looping. I've tried using apk manager, ark manager(i use linux) and using ninjamorph right on the phone. I've also tried wiping cache/data/dalvik for each method and still no love. Any hints?
  5. buckmarble
    Offline

    buckmarble Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Im not sure if liberty has the wrong one to begin with. This is mainly for themes from the bionic going to the d3 and vise versa. When you copy it over it, both frameworks need to be in the same state. IE decompiled or compiled. You dont want to copy a decopiled xml into a compiled framework.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  6. Endoroid
    Offline

    Endoroid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I do believe liberty is a port from the bionic, the power_profile.xml was different then the one from my stock framework. If I used ark manager to drag from one apk straight to the other it should work?

    Sent from my rooted xt860
  7. buckmarble
    Offline

    buckmarble Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    The apps on the phone doesnt recompress an apk correctly after you edit them. But yes, you can just drag and drop but you have to do it on a computer then flash it.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  8. buckmarble
    Offline

    buckmarble Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Here is a corrected liberty fwres.apk http://i.min.us/jrs3Sk6ReR4eB.apk just replace the one in the rom update.zip and reflash the rom. No wipe.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  9. ovelayer
    Offline

    ovelayer Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    U.S
    Thanks for this buck...it helped with liberty!
    I droped your file in the zip,then just because i wiped everything,sbf'd then installed the new zip and i must say my d3 is now alot snappier and i dont keep loosing google..very nice..oh and i also notice my d3 isnt switching from 3g to 1x all the time like it was..
    Awsome job and thanks for sharin!
  10. ovelayer
    Offline

    ovelayer Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    U.S
    hey someone..the framework res apk was deleted off minus...could someone post an alt link please..:biggrin:
  11. ovelayer
    Offline

    ovelayer Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    U.S
    thank you
Search tags for this page

droid 3 radio firmware

,
droid bionic causes radio issues
,
droid bionic radio
,

droid bionic radio firmware

,
droid bionic radio software update