[IMPORTANT] M100 Update cannot currently be rooted.

Discussion in 'Casio G'zOne Commando' started by paxchristos, Feb 7, 2012.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. paxchristos
    Offline

    paxchristos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Ratings:
    +1
    FYI for anybody who updates their commando, the new update, M100 is currently un-root able by current means.

    Sent from my R800x using Tapatalk
  2. cedge100
    Offline

    cedge100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks

    Thank you, that would likely explain why it wouldn't work on a rooted phone.
  3. elderlypunk
    Offline

    elderlypunk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I restored an old nandroid and flashed back to stock recovery just to see what the death was with the update. I'm more or less a chronic tinkerer, and also have faith the the brainy types will eventually figure out how to root this M100 update. I can thereby confirm from first person experience that this update is crap. No real worthwhile improvements, and the ptt is junk. It's not overly sluggish; but compared to pre-update, rooted, debloated, and turbocharged, it's pretty pathetic. IMHO, not worth anyone's time....

    Sent from my C771 using DroidForums
  4. scorows
    Offline

    scorows New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Guernsey, WY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm a newbie to rooting my C771. Just got it figured out last week. Today it did an automatic update to the M100. Now I have no root and can't get anywhere with it. Is there a way to get rid of the update and revert back or am I stuck till someone can find a way around it. Also how do I get rid of the auto-update. Looked everywhere in it. Sorry that I'm not much up on this.
  5. paxchristos
    Offline

    paxchristos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Ratings:
    +1
    I see you posted in both threads, but i'll respond in this one (to both of them.)

    Currently, there is no way to revert to a previous update. There is also no way to fix a phone that has been bricked other than through bricking your phone in a certain way. (Just an FYI)

    Yes, unfortunately you are stuck with this update until further notice (until somebody finds a new exploit)

    To get rid of auto-update, you need to freeze/uninstall innopath (it's the app that does updates)

    Pax
  6. scorows
    Offline

    scorows New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Guernsey, WY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank's for the info. Tried to uninstall then tried to freeze. Won't let me do either.
  7. paxchristos
    Offline

    paxchristos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Ratings:
    +1
    You need to be rooted to freeze/uninstall system apps

    Sent from my R800x using Tapatalk
  8. scorows
    Offline

    scorows New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Guernsey, WY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guess I'll have to wait then. That's a nice catch 22.
  9. scottsquared
    Offline

    scottsquared New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    And waiting.......

    Over a month later, and still no root. My supposedly waterproof (rooted)Commando fell into 5' of water and was trashed. The Asurion replacement came with M100 build. So I'm stuck with this bloated piece of crap that EATS batteries.

    Anone have any insight as to why Verizon insists on burdening us with useless crap?
  10. jnwilliamson
    Offline

    jnwilliamson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am about to buy a Casio Commando. I keep reading that M100 and up can't be rooted. I've never had an android phone, and have no idea what the M100 update is. If I buy one new today, will it be M100+ or is that something that's updated manually? How do I tell if a specific phone is M100 or higher? Thanks!
  11. scorows
    Offline

    scorows New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Guernsey, WY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Go to your system settings and find the one that says "about phone". Should tell you if it is a M100. But all of them should be the M100 or higher. Haven't had my Commando for quite a few months now. Last I knew they are still not rootable.
  12. jnwilliamson
    Offline

    jnwilliamson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the feedback!
  13. Dieseldink
    Offline

    Dieseldink New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My phone says M130. Is there a way to reboot it? Emails broke , wont send picture texts and other various problems. doug
Search tags for this page
c771 custom rom
,
casio 771 stop automatic upgrades
,

casio c771 root

,
crucial m100
,

how to root casio c771

,
how to root m100
,

how to root my casio commando

,
how to temporary root a casio gz'1 android
,

root casio c771

,
xperia play r800x recovery mode