IMPORTANT: Launcher Pro Users

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by icculusX, Aug 12, 2010.

  1. icculusX
    Offline

    icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Moon
    IMPORTANT: Launcher Pro Users


    I have been having issues with LauncherPro and just found the solution to all of my problems. I just wanted to post this in the case that someone else might have been in my shoes, not literally, eww.

    Issue:
    I am a huge Launcher Pro fan. It's the best launcher out there in my opinion, however I was having this horrible re-loading issue where the launcher would seem to have to load everything back into memory upon hitting the 'home' key. It seemed to happen mostly after I would use a memory intensive app like the browser, games, or something like that. After returning home, it would basically be blank and take 10 to 15 seconds to re-load and be ready to use, with is a LONG time to wait when your busy. I was ready to give up on LPro, untill I got a solution...

    Solution:
    So I was on IRC the other day asking about this and someone (wish I could remember who for credits) told me that many people were having this re-loading issue with LPro that had kernels above 1000. I was running a 1100 ULV kernel and decided to flash back to a 800 LV to see what happened and BAM! It works! I have been on this lower kernel since last night and I have not had one single re-load on my LauncherPro! Plus my phone is fast enough so I don't see the need to desire a high end kernel as I used to. Also, I think it's time I sent the developer some cash for the full version now that i know the issue wasnt his fault! Hope this helps at least someone!

    :icon_ banana:dancedroid​





    FYI: I am using UD eXtreme 6.0.0 with P3 800LV kernel with lots of goodies!



    .
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2010
  2. alm0614
    Offline

    alm0614 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am using the default 800 Mhz kernel that comes with BB and still have redraws.
  3. icculusX
    Offline

    icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Moon
    Hmm, like how often? Just every so often or a lot? Maybe flash a P3 or something? Maybe flash UD haha...
  4. Jim 777
    Offline

    Jim 777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,276
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    too bad just setting your cpu at under 1K won't do it.
  5. Mechanicat
    Offline

    Mechanicat New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    I'm completely stock & have redraw lag. I figured it was normal, its crunching a lot of sh*t & its processing slower then my 12 year old boat anchor Gateway.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  6. icculusX
    Offline

    icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Moon
    Damn, I thought posting this would help out so many people. I mean mine was redrawing after using a lot of apps and after I flashed the P3 800 kernel I literally have had no issues. Sorry folks! Thought I had the fix!

    Plus I have tons of apps, 2 custom full docs, 7 screens, photos and widgets, 3d launcher 5 icons across, QuickDesk running in the background, and much more. Maybe it is just my UD6 ROM and Kernel combo? I dono....
  7. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
  8. machnhed
    Offline

    machnhed New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington DC (Centreville, VA)
    LOL I'm sure it helped some people! Hell, the more suggestions out there, the better.

    Personally, I was getting a ton of redraws before... both using the Launcher Pro and Pro Plus versions, P3 LV250-1000 kernel, and with a stock FRF84 ROM and UD 5.0.1 ROM. 5 homescreens, about 8 widgets.

    I've since started using BB 0.4 and changed to Pete's LV250-1100 kernel, moved up to 7 screens, 3 docks, all notifications on, and have this thing LOADED with widgets. Not only has my phone improved speed-wise significantly, but VERY rarely get a redraw. MAAAYYYBBBE when coming out of navigation or something pretty graphically intensive, but otherwise, this combination of ROM, kernel and setup has drastically improved everything. I didn't even touch the memory tweaks in LauncherPro, nor did I have to use Minfree or any memory manager.
    Just my 2 cents in the ongoing debate as to why this happens... dancedroid

    Zack
    PS: Using this config, I'm consistently getting near 1300 on a Quadrant benchmark as well! That's with everything running as-is, and I'm more than satisfied. I topped out in the 1500s when I killed all the running apps and widgets.
  9. Jim 777
    Offline

    Jim 777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,276
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    All is not lost, instead of flashing a new kernel, I backed up my ROM then reinstalled the same ROM with the 800 kernel option. I don't know yet (I did it last night before bed) if it's helped but I noticed I've got an extra bar on the wifi icon, something I was complaining about earlier.

    Will keep an eye on this.

    Just for another input about the lag, there's a thread about using MinFreeManager app and I did try that and noticed a big difference. Didn't eliminate the lag all together, but definite improvement.
  10. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    You know what stops redraws, Compcache. It's a feature on Sapphire 1.0, and since I turned it on (about a week now) I have not had one redraw!dancedroid
Similar Threads
  1. Shmooze
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    2,712
  2. SID KELLY
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    4,281
  3. bigfootjumpsuit
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    3,726
  4. Mwsr
    Replies:
    29
    Views:
    5,376
  5. mcp770
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    987
Loading...
Search tags for this page
launcher pro plus slow
,

launcher pro slow to load