I'm running two messengers?!?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by kcook323, Nov 22, 2009.

  1. kcook323
    Offline

    kcook323 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE AL
    Could someone please help me figure out how to stop running one of the IM application's? I have to check two different IM's to clear my notifications. I did install Handcent. So, am I supposed to turn one off? I hope I'm not confusing. I have been playing around with the different apps, and I'm sure it is right under my nose. :blush:
  2. BeefyBeefo
    Offline

    BeefyBeefo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CO
    Did you set it to use Handcent by default?
  3. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You are correct in that you need to disable one the OS's SMS/MMS notification so you don't get duplicates
  4. kcook323
    Offline

    kcook323 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE AL
    I'm not sure to tell you the truth. Mind walking me through the steps?!? Pretty please? (blush)
  5. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Go to the stock Messaging App > (hit menu button) Settings > (Scroll to) Notifications and disable (uncheck box). You'll then only receive the notification from Handcent.
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2009
  6. kcook323
    Offline

    kcook323 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE AL
    Yayeee!! Thank you SO much!
  7. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No problem. Just remember if you ever uninstall Handcent for some reason you'd have to enable the Notifications again. And you can still manage your Notification TONE thru the Sounds and Dispaly in settings and it won't affect your Handcent notification tone as it's seperate in the Handcent APP settings. This way you can still have a separate tone for E-mail notifications and such.
  8. kcook323
    Offline

    kcook323 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE AL
    Great! Thanks. Do you by any chance know the difference in the Conversation Style in the Handcent App? Handcent Classic, Handcent, iPhone, and Android?
  9. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea the difference is just the appearance. Pick one and see what you like. Easy change... no reboot needed or anything like that. Something I found out with that while experimenting with the appearances.... Make sure you select the Options/Settings Menu (the little wrench) in the Handcent home screen so that it is your default setting and not the Setting button when you're in a selected conversation as this will set appearance preference for each individual contact, not the "default" appearance. It's nice if you wanna have a separate style for individuals...
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2009
  10. kcook323
    Offline

    kcook323 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE AL
    Ha! Thanks! I had my perfect bubble settings....used the wrench in upper right corner while texting my husband.....darn it! Now I have to go fiddle with the main settings so I can set all my contacts up the same. lol
  11. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Haha. Had that happen all day first day. Thought Handcent had a mind of it's own. Just thought I let ya know that and save ya some aggravation :)

    The "Wrench" is the setting for default for all Handcent. The home menu... lists all conversations.

    The "Gear" when your actually clicked into a conversation is for the specific contact.