[IM] NOW WORKING ON 3g

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by intenselyinsane, Feb 3, 2010.

  1. intenselyinsane
    Offline

    intenselyinsane New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Zappletoo from xda got this working on the doughnut. I tried it and it seems to work for the droid on 3g too. It is one app for Yahoo, AIM, and windows live messenger.

    1. adb shell

    2. mount -o remount,rw /dev/mtd/mtdblock4 /system

    3. adb push ImProvider.zip /system/app/ImProvider.apk

    4. adb push IM.zip /system/app/IM.apk

    :icon_ banana:Enjoy.

    Attached Files:

  2. pcandroid
    Offline

    pcandroid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is this the aim, yahoo, windows live messenger?
  3. intenselyinsane
    Offline

    intenselyinsane New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It is all three of them!!
  4. knotbeerdan
    Offline

    knotbeerdan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Is this the same one that keeps giving me an error saying it cannot find my sim card and to contact my AT&T rep? (im talking about the app included in bugless beauty) Yeah every time i flash i remove that app.
  5. intenselyinsane
    Offline

    intenselyinsane New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same problem with Bugless Beast. This is the same app as included in the rom however this one works. Works on wifi and 3g.
  6. CKyle22
    Offline

    CKyle22 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What is IMprovider.apk do?

    I didn't use that and it works fine on 3G.
  7. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    is this any more stable than Palringo or Meebo?
  8. wuyanks
    Offline

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    can we get some screenshots? curious about how it looks
  9. Seano
    Offline

    Seano New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    same here.
  10. sprke81
    Offline

    sprke81 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I'm running bugless beast.. Do I just put both zip files on my sd card then run the OP's commands in terminal emulator on my phone?
  11. intenselyinsane
    Offline

    intenselyinsane New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Posted some screenshots in first post. Install steps are in bold. Just make sure you type them right. This came frome xda off the doughnut. looks the same as Bugless Beast but I think his only works on wifi and it came up with a phone number error for me. This one worked even installing right over the stock one.
  12. lippstuh
    Offline

    lippstuh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if you're running pete's bugless beast or bugless beauty. Download the IM.zip file or whatever and rename it to IM.apk and put it on your sdcard

    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    rm /system/app/IM.apk
    busybox cp /sdcard/IM.apk /system/app/IM.apk
    mount -o remount,ro -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    sync
  13. sprke81
    Offline

    sprke81 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can I run all these commands that I see in the forums in terminal emulator? Or does it all have to be done via adb?
  14. lippstuh
    Offline

    lippstuh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    u can run it with terminal emulator. anythign that says adb will require adb via computer.
  15. Seano
    Offline

    Seano New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks dude worked perfectly.
  16. 19DroidRage84
    Offline

    19DroidRage84 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    LC, KS
    Wow if you've used ebuddy before you probably won't like this. It's really slow!
  17. jy2042
    Offline

    jy2042 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Yeah, I didn't install ImProvider.apk and it still worked fine for me on 3G. What does this file do and do we really need to install it?

    Also, does anyone know if this app uses data only or SMS for messaging?