I'm not sure the used droid I bought has stock rom.

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by dan.dar, Dec 17, 2010.

  1. dan.dar

    dan.dar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    In about phone it says:
    Android Version 2.2
    Baseband version: C_01.43.01P
    Kernel version: 2.6.32.9-g103d848
    Build Number: Froyo Kangerade V1.0

    Launcher is ADW Version 0.7.8
     
  2. antmeyerx

    antmeyerx Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, im not to sure that it myself haha
     
  3. dan.dar

    dan.dar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I'm a total noob as far as android goes, so I wasn't being sarcastic. I really don't know, but since there is a donate button in ADW settings I got curious.
     
  4. dan.dar

    dan.dar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    So I googled it, apparently it's an older rom from June. Seems to work fine, not that i would know. Any opinions on it?
     
  5. warrior21

    warrior21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks like you bought a rooted phone. I ran Kangerade a while back, it was a solid ROM at the time
     
  6. dan.dar

    dan.dar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    So if it's already rooted, since I was planning on loading custom roms onto it anyways, this should make it easier. Right? The only problem might be that I don't have a backup of my stock rom? Could I use my current rom as my backup?
     
  7. UNC

    UNC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Ratings:
    +2
    If it works properly right now just make a backup of the rom you're using. Backups don't have to be official roms, they just need to work so if something messes up in the future you can restore.

    So, just back up Kangerade and install Cyanogenmod 6.12.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  8. warrior21

    warrior21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Like UNC said you can just make a backup of Kangerade and then flash one of the more current ROMS. There are ways of going back to stock if you have to
     
  9. dan.dar

    dan.dar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    My wifi started acting up so that's exactly what I did. Wifi now works perfectly fine. Phew! I thought I bought a broken droid off ebay.

    The only thing I miss from Kangerade is the battery indicator was showing percentage inside the battery icon and now it just shows a non-descript battery icon.
     
  10. UNC

    UNC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Ratings:
    +2
    Today is your lucky day!
    There's an option for that!

    Settings -> Cyanogenmod settings -> User interface -> Status bar
    The first option is "Battery Percentage".

    CM is the best by far in my experience. They make the best roms for every android device I have owned. (Dream, Magic, D1, Dinc)


    Just wondering, did you use ADW launcher with CM or Launcher2?
     
  11. dan.dar

    dan.dar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I used AWD launcher, though I wasn't aware there was a choice. Thanks for the tip.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
Search tags for this page

bought used droid x is it stock or rom