i'm confused about recovery images and bricking. please explain

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by tktouch12, Dec 13, 2009.

1. tktouch12

tktouch12 Active Member

Ratings:
    +0
    sorry i'm a noob when it comes to the droid. what does a recovery image do?
    i understand it that if you delete any system file the os wont let you update or something like that?, so if you screw up, it wont let you put a new image on. is that kind of how it is?
    so this recovery image just patches your firmware, so if you delete a system file it will just let you install anything onto your device? is that right?
    what kind of thing would brick a device or cause it to need to be 'restored' anyway.
    thanks for explaining

(p.s.- i'm pretty advanced with iphones and ipod touches)

2. tktouch12

tktouch12 Active Member

Ratings:
    +0
    i usually get answers so quick, but can anyone help me with this?

3. tktouch12

tktouch12 Active Member

Ratings:
    +0
    and does a recovery image permanently keep your phone safe from mess ups? or just until you update or flash a new rom?
    thanks

4. jinx10000

jinx10000 Member

Ratings:
    +0
    The G1 was virtually unbrickable. There was one thing that a bunch of people did that bricked it but I think that was about it. Flashing radio and custom spl in the wrong order.

The Droid is not there yet, but I'm sure one day it will be.

My suggestion is this. Root it and leave it alone until it gets there. If you are adventurous and don't mind shelling out for the new phone is the only way I would experiment right now.

5. tdawg5480

tdawg5480 Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Custom recovery is a special recovery console that has been tweaked where as the oem would let you recover with a oem update.zip
    if you mess with the os things wont match up and the flash will fail.