1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

I'm an absolute noob, asking all about 'ROM's'. Help!

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by eperrine, Aug 21, 2011.

1. eperrine

eperrine New Member

Hi all, i'll keep this as simple as possible.
    So my friend that i met over the internet rooted my Samsung Galaxy S2 for me. Now, seeing all these INCREDIBLE home screens in this forums threads, i REALLY want a 'custom ROM' (whatever that is), and something on the lines of 'MIUI' style if that makes any sense.

1) What is a ROM?
    2) Is it complicated to install into my phone?
    3) Is it risky to put a ROM on my phone?
    4) Once i've got the ROM, what do i do now? Can i customize it the way i want, through my phone? Or does it get very tricky to choose and install a preferred design?
    5) What effect will it have on my phone? For example, battery life.
    6) Any other information i should know about?

Thanks so much!
    P.S. Wow, this site is looking fantastic! Bravo.
  2. jchammer123

jchammer123 New Member

A rom is basically a different OS on your phone. These amazing devs have taken the Android OS and added their tweaks to it to make them faster and better. I don't know what roms are out for your phone, just search around this site and you'll find some. Or download Rom Manager from the market and you can install roms that way. Rom Manager is a good tool to have for beginners. Miui is a great rom to have. Miui is one of the very few roms that is entirely built from scratch, most roms are AOSP based. You can go to miui.us and see if this rom is built for your phone. Just do some research and ask questions here and you'll be flashing roms like crazy in no time!

Remember, don't forget to make a backup before you flash anything!!!

Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  3. guidot

guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member