I'm a customer in new 4g area, constant switching to 3g/1x, anyone have any pointers?

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Tech Support' started by MRH72, Jan 2, 2012.

  1. MRH72
    Offline

    MRH72 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi everyone! I had a question and i'm having trouble isolating the problem, maybe someone can help me out! My area was recently turned on to 4g (North Idaho). After it happened I decided to root my phone to Liquid gingerbread 3.2. In the last few days I've noticed that 4g is really having trouble sticking and will usually kick to 3g or 1x until I put it in airplane mode then back off.

    I've been doing research all day about this but I'm still not convinced I know what's going on (though I know it's a known issue). I'm thinking it's either:

    -New LTE area, maybe it's a network issue handling a lot of new people? (To anyone that had 4g switched on in their market this past year, was it dropping in and out when it first kicked up?)
    - I've read that sometimes ASOP roms might cause some radio issues?


    More specifically, I can have 4g but usually as soon as it sends/receives data it's going back to 3g/1x. I've tried the LTE onoff to lock the network into LTE only but it's not in my dropdown menu.

    I almost want to go back to the 3g days, at least I wasn't ever cutting out! grr...:mad:

    Any help would be appreciated, thanks!
  2. Art Vandelay
    Offline

    Art Vandelay New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not a thunderbolt owner, but maybe putting the phone in CDMA only mode is a temporary fix until 4g is stable in your area.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
  3. eFree
    Offline

    eFree New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    4G just came near my home. According to Verizon 4G map, my house is right on the line between 4G and 3G coverage. Since then, I loose my data at least once a week and have to reboot to get it back.
  4. dzylzzrd
    Offline

    dzylzzrd New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Call Verizon tech support. I'm on the fringe of 4G also. I'd suggest doing a factory reset. Mine switches back and forth from 3G to 4G a lot. It's not instantaneous, but it does alright.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  5. geoff5093
    Offline

    geoff5093 New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,345
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goffstown, NH
    I'm also on the fringe of the 4G area, and experience the same issues. I'll grab 4G for a bit but then it kicks me out and on occasion it doesn't connect to 3G/1X for a few minutes unless I toggle airplane mode.
Search tags for this page

my 4g phone says 3g

,
my phone is 4g but it says 3g
,
sprint constant switching between 1x and 3g
,
switching between 4g 3g 1x
,
thunderbolt 3g to 4g
,

why does my 4g phone say 3g

,
why does my phone say 1x instead of 4g
,

why does my phone say 3g instead of 4g

,
why does my thunderbolt says 3g
,
why does your phone get 1x instead of 4g a lot
,
why is my 4g phone showing 3g
,
why my phone says 3g when 4g