IInstalled 2.1 rom, then back to stock, then to real update, problems

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Sam Fisher, May 7, 2010.

  1. Sam Fisher
    Offline

    Sam Fisher Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a moto droid and i thought i had everything figured out, i installed droid root helper, with the custom boot menu and went back to stock so that i could have the actual OTA update. i recieved the update with minamal issues, and a couple days ago i recieved a notification telling me that a new update was ready to be installed, and the problems arose. i downloaded and installed the new update, but when it went to reboot, its stuck now. it does the droid animation, followed by the normal droid eye, then just keeps looping the animation, but never boot the phone. i did a battery pull, (or seven xD) and try to get back to the boot menu, and i get a picture of an exclamation point inside of a triangle, next to a phone. WTF!?! ive looked everywhere and cant find any1 that has had the same problems under the same circumstance... HELP!
     
  2. beneharris
    Offline

    beneharris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    portland
    Ratings:
    +0
    so are you rooted? that seemed a little bit unclear.

    the exclamation point wiht the triangle is your recovery mode, thats a good thing.

    and your not bricked, don't worry. your just gonna need to flash the phone back, and im sure someone will be along shortly to tell you how to do that. in the meantime, search around, this isn't an uncommon thing
     
  3. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
  4. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
  5. Sam Fisher
    Offline

    Sam Fisher Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i cant figure out why my device wont show up. i plugger it in and it says battery ok ready to program, transfer modeusb but rsd lite cant see it, im unsure what im supposed to do
     
  6. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    a couple of things to make sure of
    - if you're running windows vista or windows 7, make sure you right-click on rsdlite and run it as administrator
    - did you install the correct usb drivers (i.e. 32 bit vs 64 bit) per the instructions?
     
  7. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    You can not install the wrong drivers, a pop-up tells you to use the other ones, but it won't tell you if you installed no drivers. You definitely need the drivers.

    The link (mentioned above and 3rd in my signature) has a suggestion if your phone is not showing up, use the config menu.

    If you have another computer to try RSD Lite on you might want to give that a try too.

    There also is a chance the rebooting you are seeing is due to a low battery. Sometimes the phone just thinks the battery is low, and others times it really is run down. Leave the phone plugged into a wall outlet for an hour or two and see if the phone stops doing a partial reboot and fully loads the OS.
     
  8. Sam Fisher
    Offline

    Sam Fisher Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey guys thank you so much for the support, however, the battery is not low and i have both drivers installed but rsd lite ( no matter what i do in config) does not seem to see my droid... my other comp has same problem. there must be something simple i am over looking...
     
  9. Sam Fisher
    Offline

    Sam Fisher Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    mabye im not properly running rsd as admin? im trying here but i cant figure this out... is this the only means of getting my phone back?
     
  10. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    what OS are you running?
     
  11. Sam Fisher
    Offline

    Sam Fisher Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    im running vista
     
  12. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    when you open rsdlite, hold down shift and right click it, then choose "run as administrator"... you should get the annoying vista warning and just yes it and you'll know you're running it as administrator
     
  13. Sam Fisher
    Offline

    Sam Fisher Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok progress made... model: SE Flash... port no.1 port type USB... Status connected but still cant "start"
     
  14. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    Hmm... ok -please know I'm in no way trying to question your intelligence with any of these questions, just trying to cover all the bases!

    Now that you have rsdlite seeing your phone:
    1. The .sbf file that you select through the "...", is it on your desktop or in another directory? For whatever reason, I've read it can't be on your desktop
    2. You've ensured you have the right usb drivers installed - i.e. you're running vista 32 bit and you installed the 32 bit drivers
    3. You're using the usb cable that came with the Droid
    4. The battery thing christim mentioned

    I've read about that before, and for the life of me can't remember what solution was used to get it to where you could start it... especially if you've been through all of the above already...

    Still thinking.
     
  15. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    any luck? about to cut out for the night
     
Search tags for this page
moto cliq stock sbf
,

motorola cliq stock rom download