If You Have a Google Maps Problem - In Here

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by ChevyNo1, Mar 18, 2010.

  1. meishkov

    meishkov Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Ratings:
    +2
    Worked like a charm. I was wondering why the damn installation kept failing. Thanks a lot for this.
     
  2. Shadowtech

    Shadowtech New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for this. Previously I had success just deleting the files then installing from Market, however with the latest update I couldn't get it to go even with everything removed. Your little installer package did the job perfectly.
     
  3. dverplank

    dverplank Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    CHEVY - Your a genius. A self install file!!! hahaha hahaha. Thanks for everything man!!

    -Dave
     
  4. gardobus

    gardobus Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    This title always reminds me of that Jay-Z song 99 problems.

    If you havin' map problems, I feel bad for you son. I got 99 problems, but my maps ain't one.
     
  5. Droid#64

    Droid#64 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bradenton Fl.
    Ratings:
    +0
    You are the man!!!!!!!!

    That WORKED so fantastic you should get a reward a huge one!!!!!!!!!!!!
    THANK YOU SO MUCH!! I had to reinstall my rom and of course cannot update maps, the crap I went thru the other day..WOW you my friend are a life saver!!!!!!!!
     
  6. orizzle

    orizzle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    works perfect, thanks!!!
     
  7. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Glad the script is working for ya'll!! ;)
     
  8. camcrobe

    camcrobe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Central, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Having a mac (sorry, couldn't use the script) and not using adb commands though sdk... I went through many of the suggestions (removing both the maps.apk file and then reboot then delete com.android.google.maps file). Although I was able to install the maps app from the market, I kept getting "log failed" message when I launched Maps. It appears to me that installing Maps from the market puts it in /data/apps and not in /system/apps. Using root explorer, I moved the app from /data/apps to /system/apps Reboot and now no login error, everything incl. nav works fine.
     
  9. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Not sure if putting in /system/app will cause you problems or not. I initially placed it in /system/app, and that's how all this maps errors started. You will know I suppose when it comes time for the next update. Also - I find it odd that you get no login error with it in /system, but do with it in /data. It should have dropped a msg to your notification area stating it wanted permission to login, which is why you were seeing the error.
     
  10. camcrobe

    camcrobe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Central, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know, it's strange that it just works in system/apps which is counter intuitive to everything I've read. FWIW, I'm running AdamZ's ROM, but I see most others (e.g., yours, Pete's, Ultimate, etc..) are having the same issues. I'll let it run for a bit until I either update my ROM or Maps is updated and see how it goes. Thanks for you response.
     
  11. myz06vette

    myz06vette Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    Ratings:
    +0
    Followed instructions from Chevy's original post and it worked fine. I'm also on a mac.. just used terminal and typed in the commands from the cmd file myself line by line. I had the login error and it stumped me for a minute... found an item in the notification drawer I'd never seen before asking permission to validate my credentials blah blah blah and I clicked allow.. now its perfect!

    Thanks again Chevy.
     
  12. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    You bet! :)
     
Search tags for this page
google map loading problem on android
,

google maps login failed error

,
google maps not working on android
,

google maps sign in problem

,

google maps update android problem

,
login failed maps android
,
loi dang nhap ko thanh cong tren google maps
,
map problem on android
,
problem signing in google maps
,
why does it say login failed on google maps