If you have 2.1 ROM installed and...

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by Matth3w, Feb 4, 2010.

  1. Matth3w
    Online

    Matth3w Guest

    ...want to install Bugless Beast, my understanding is, you need to uninstall 2.1 first then go to install Bugless Beast. Can someone explain exactly how to do this so I can link it to my [How To] thread (middle link in my signature)?

    Thanks!
  2. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,074
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Well they should have done a nandroid backup before installing 2.1 so they should be able to just do advanced nandroid restore in sprecovery
  3. Matth3w
    Online

    Matth3w Guest

    So basically restore back to whatever point they had prior to 2.1?
  4. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    I thought it was as simple as the Bugless Beast rom would replace the 2.1 rom when you an update.zip or the nandroid method.
  5. Matth3w
    Online

    Matth3w Guest

    People are reporting in my thread that BB is not installing over 2.1
  6. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Just found out I was mistaken. Beast installs over 2.01, not over 2.1.

    Sorry, so this is what it feels like to make a mistake!!
  7. 52brandon
    Offline

    52brandon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    dont you just wipe system and cache before doing the nandroid restore?
  8. dahotz
    Offline

    dahotz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    I had 2.1 running before I went to BB. I deleted the 2.1 folder out of nandroid, then copied in the BB 0.7.2 (I was using at the time), and then I did a system wipe, cache wipe, and simple restore to BB 0.7.2. Worked great.

    Everytime I do an upgrade, as a rule of thumb, I always do a clean wipe. I've learned from my BlackBerry Storm days, that clean wipes always make for a better experience, even if you have to spend a bit more time restoring back things. The way I feel is if someone didn't want the hassle of restoring things, don't bother hacking your phone because that is always a possibility you loose what you have.
  9. TekHawk
    Offline

    TekHawk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Yuba ****ty, California
    you should be fine if you wipe data and use the nandroid restore then update.zip method would need you to roll back 2.1 to 2.0.1 though