If you have 2.1 ROM installed and...

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by Matth3w, Feb 4, 2010.

  1. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    ...want to install Bugless Beast, my understanding is, you need to uninstall 2.1 first then go to install Bugless Beast. Can someone explain exactly how to do this so I can link it to my [How To] thread (middle link in my signature)?

    Thanks!
     
  2. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,150
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +223
    Well they should have done a nandroid backup before installing 2.1 so they should be able to just do advanced nandroid restore in sprecovery
     
  3. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    So basically restore back to whatever point they had prior to 2.1?
     
  4. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    I thought it was as simple as the Bugless Beast rom would replace the 2.1 rom when you an update.zip or the nandroid method.
     
  5. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    People are reporting in my thread that BB is not installing over 2.1
     
  6. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Just found out I was mistaken. Beast installs over 2.01, not over 2.1.

    Sorry, so this is what it feels like to make a mistake!!
     
  7. 52brandon

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    dont you just wipe system and cache before doing the nandroid restore?
     
  8. dahotz

    dahotz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had 2.1 running before I went to BB. I deleted the 2.1 folder out of nandroid, then copied in the BB 0.7.2 (I was using at the time), and then I did a system wipe, cache wipe, and simple restore to BB 0.7.2. Worked great.

    Everytime I do an upgrade, as a rule of thumb, I always do a clean wipe. I've learned from my BlackBerry Storm days, that clean wipes always make for a better experience, even if you have to spend a bit more time restoring back things. The way I feel is if someone didn't want the hassle of restoring things, don't bother hacking your phone because that is always a possibility you loose what you have.
     
  9. TekHawk

    TekHawk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yuba ****ty, California
    Ratings:
    +0
    you should be fine if you wipe data and use the nandroid restore then update.zip method would need you to roll back 2.1 to 2.0.1 though