1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

If we make a backup with CWR are we able to use it to restore?

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Roms' started by MrKleen, Apr 3, 2011.

  1. MrKleen
    Offline

    MrKleen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been reading there has been problems using ROM Manager to restore backups.

    I installed my first Rom on my Thunderbolt yesterday and I want to know that I can restore my stock backup when I choose.

    Has anyone used Rom Manager to restore their backup successfully?
  2. jr313
    Offline

    jr313 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Yes its easy to restore and i do it all the time...when ever you wish to return to your previouys state just boot into recovery and scroll dwn to backup/restore click it then choose restore andyour good itll restore ya, reboot and your back to where you wanted to be...backups are an awesome thing they can get you out of trouble if u happen to mess up..
  3. MrKleen
    Offline

    MrKleen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That is what I would have expected. The reason I was asking is that I've been reading elsewhere about issues.
  4. jr313
    Offline

    jr313 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Yeah read that also...but I've not had one problem personally

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  5. Its TwiX
    Offline

    Its TwiX New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just restored a backup from CWR after flashing a new boot ani I tried to make. Didn't look very good. :D
  6. hogowner
    Offline

    hogowner New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    for faster restores and backups....you can open up ROM MANAGER and scroll down to "Manage and Restore Backups" menus.....pick what you want to do from there.,...and RM reboots in the recovery mode and automatically back up or restores! Go and check it! :icon_ banana:dancedroid
  7. pookie025
    Offline

    pookie025 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    every time i try this i loose my root??? idk why
  8. 52brandon
    Offline

    52brandon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've only restored boot on my TB so far, but it worked for me. I always install CW recovery twice in a row after having a problem on my droid months ago
  9. duckswtfpwn
    Offline

    duckswtfpwn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have 3 Stock backups that refuse to now restore. I used all 3 roughly 12 times and they worked perfectly until today. I'm getting the "Error formatting /system" and it quits. If I reboot then it just sits at the white HTC screen and I have to pull the battery. The only way I can actually use my phone again is to load up a ROM. I want the stock ROM back so much.
  10. MrKleen
    Offline

    MrKleen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I tried to restore a backup the other day for the first time and of course it failed.

    This is why I asked this question... And everyone was saying it would be fine.

    Said MD5 failed. I backup every Rom I try but can never restore one.
  11. sgtguthrie
    Offline

    sgtguthrie New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would love to hear more on this topic.

    sent via rooted THUNDERBOLT using Tapatalk
  12. MrKleen
    Offline

    MrKleen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you tried to restore a backup?
  13. sgtguthrie
    Offline

    sgtguthrie New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not yet...

    sent via rooted THUNDERBOLT using Tapatalk
  14. MrKleen
    Offline

    MrKleen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good luck, it doesn't work for me.
  15. jr313
    Offline

    jr313 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Wow im sorry to hear yous are havn problems...i have 3 backups and have no problem jumpn between any of them...maybe try to boot into recovery and make ur back up there, thats what i do and it works flawless...

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  16. Oxymoron
    Offline

    Oxymoron New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've always restored my backups through rebooting into recovery manually, and I've never had a problem. I have read about people having issues trying to do it right through ROM manager though.

    I've had to reflash my recovery before though, after flashing a kernel or something... because when I would boot into recovery, like 10 seconds in it would just reboot itself automatically. I just reflash recovery, and it takes care of it.

    No issues with restoring backups though.
  17. MrKleen
    Offline

    MrKleen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I make my backups in recovery and try to restore from recovery.
  18. birddog79
    Offline

    birddog79 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As long as you have the ROM files or kernel files used in the backup, you can restore from recovery with no worries.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  19. MrKleen
    Offline

    MrKleen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, once again why will it not work for me?

    I'm not new to this either. I've used this software to restore hundreds of times, just won't work on my Thunderbolt.
Search tags for this page

como uso el backup de cwr

,

cwr back up

,

foolz htc one z4root

,

restore data using cwr

,

restoring from cwr