If I wipe my Droid, must I rebuy apps?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by s54, Mar 21, 2010.

  1. s54

    s54 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I do a clear/wipe of all the data on the Droid, will I have to repurchase every single app? ...or will my google account (one that I signed in with to buy a particular app) remember the apps I already purchased?
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Absolutely not. The paid apps are attached to your gmail account. The rest you would have to get individually, unless you back up to a web site. You would need something like My Backup Pro to do that.
     
  3. MontyMo

    MontyMo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope. I think the Market is tied to your gmail account. After wiping the Droid, go to the Market and select downloaded. All of your Apps should be there.

    Monty
     
  4. MontyMo

    MontyMo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Darn it! I will NEVER be the first to answer a question or post something new. grrr
    Monty
     
  5. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    Just make sure you use the same Google account when you do the initial setup on your phone.
     
  6. myriad46

    myriad46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have heard complaints of people who backed up their apps with a file manager (Astro for example) and when they wipe the phone and reinstall the apps from the backup, it does not bring back the "Downloads" list in the Marketplace. No problem, except that the Marketplace uses this list to remind you of updates to applications. Can any one verify either side of this question from personal experience. Wiped and able to restore from the marketplace? Even if google remembered, how would it tell you? Would the Download list have a bunch of entries that say "previously downloaded"? Does it look on your phone and detect which apps you have installed and compare it to the list of downloaded apps to find discrepancies? This seems unlikely.
     
  7. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    If you use Astro or another file manager to restore apps then you would have to update manually.

    To me since I don't have a thousand apps the logical thing to do would be to simply download your paid apps in the market downloads and then go get the free ones on an "as needed" basis, with a few exceptions like Astro.
     
  8. myriad46

    myriad46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    But what I am saying is, if you wipe your Droid, when you log back in to the Marketplace, the list won't be populated with the apps you had on your Droid prior to wiping it. Or am I wrong?
     
  9. ghostengineer

    ghostengineer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im curious. How do you wipe your Droid and doing so will do what to the phone? Im curious
     
  10. myriad46

    myriad46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Settings - Privacy - Factory Data Reset
     
  11. pongky

    pongky New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    A wipe will restore your phone to factory defaults - but your apps, settings (such as wifi) and contacts (if you synced them with your google acct) will still be there after it reboots back up. Your desktop appearance and icons will be back to default though.
     
  12. PhoenixGTR

    PhoenixGTR Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ooh...I'm a Droid newb, but I think i know this one..
    Check the "backup settings "box before you reset. I know I had to reset and I had that checked and I got all my apps back and I 'd only download free ones so far.
     
Search tags for this page

do i have to rebuy apps for android

,

do you have to rebuy apps for android

,
factory rest will my apps still be there
,
how to rebuy apps after reset
,
i had to do a factory reset on my droid and now my contacts
,
if i have to faactory reset my phone will i still have my ap
,
if i set my android phone back to factory settings will i ha
,
if i wipe my android do i have to rebuy my apps
,
if i wipe my phone do i have to repurchase app
,
what do i do if i wiped my phone