If I want to import system ringers

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by loop4zil, Mar 5, 2010.

  1. loop4zil

    loop4zil Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would like to import the library of system ring tones and alerts sounds from one ROM to my current Rom.

    Where are the system ring tones located?

    Once found and extracted do I need to ADB push? or can I just drop em in a folder on my droid.
     
  2. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,019
    Likes Received:
    6,714
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,025
    Current Phone Model:
    Huawei Nexus 6P
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    I THINK you can place them in media>ringtones on the SD, but don't quote me on that. I'd like to know where they are as well, since this seems like an idea I'd like to use! Haha!
     
  3. Flomaster

    Flomaster Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    East Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have on my Sdcard a folder structure set up like this

    sdcard/media/3 subfolders /audio /photo /video

    sdcard/media/audio/ringtones
    sdcard/media/audio/notifications
    sdcard/media/music
    sdcard/media/music videos

    sdcard/media/video
    sdcard/media/video/droid video
    sdcard/media/video/movies
    sdcard/media/video/funny clips
    sdcard/media/video/movie trailers

    sdcard/photos and all the subfolder within


    every time I flash a new tome all my ringtones, notifications, show up for the picking with out have to move them around to the phone...

    -=Jason=-
     
  4. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,019
    Likes Received:
    6,714
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,025
    Current Phone Model:
    Huawei Nexus 6P
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    I believe the more "important" question, though, is where in a rom's files are the ringtones located? Is that the same for every rom?

    We wanna swipe the tones from at least one rom to use no matter Which rom is in use and want to know where to find them within each rom. Would it be easiest to use root explorer and copy the desired ringtones from the rom to the SD card?

    Damn...I've been up all night and was gonna go to sleep, but now I gotta find this stuff.

    Side question...if I were to copy ALL ringtones from a given rom to the SD card, then loaded up another rom, would I have duplicates in the tone Chooser? Ie, I copy the DROID ringtone to the SD, and my new rom has the DROID ringtone. When setting ringtones, anyone know if there will be two DROID ringtones listed, or will one cancel the other out?
     
  5. loop4zil

    loop4zil Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0

    yep that worked.

    the file structure was media>audio>

    I dropped an alarm folder a notifications folder and a ringtones folder. I had to reboot to get the to show up in the android system selection.

    Also...all the stock ringtones/allarms/notifications show up twice now. Not a big deal to me...but not sure why it does that.
     
  6. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,019
    Likes Received:
    6,714
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,025
    Current Phone Model:
    Huawei Nexus 6P
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Update: using root explorer on my Droid, I found my rom's ringtones in /system/media. There is a folder for notifications, and one for ringtones. Will now copy to SD card like Jason's are setup and see if duplicates occur.
     
  7. Flomaster

    Flomaster Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    East Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    you know when installing Simply stunning I did notice I have these NEW ringtones that I didn't have before... so yeah I wonder if they will duplicate or just be seen as one...

    report back asap or I will have to try this myself

    -=Jason=-
     
    #7 Flomaster, Mar 5, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2010
  8. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,019
    Likes Received:
    6,714
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,025
    Current Phone Model:
    Huawei Nexus 6P
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    That's what I figured. They show up twice because the exist both places. Wouldn't hurt anything to use root explorer to delete them from the rom, would it? Then you'd free up internal memory space and could just cut/ paste ringtones from other roms out of the system folders and into the SD folders. I'd do that for ALL, then simply overwrite any duplicates in the SD folders...

    Thoughts?
     
  9. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,019
    Likes Received:
    6,714
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,025
    Current Phone Model:
    Huawei Nexus 6P
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Of course, that means one more process when switching roms...wonder what'd happen if you removed them from the rom install files first and put those directly on the SD...
     
  10. Flomaster

    Flomaster Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    East Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    then they wouldn't install with the ROM. if you have the know how to remove them I see no problem with doing that, or just keep then all on my Sdcard and after installing a new rom just delete the /system/media/audio folder and free up that space on the phone.

    hrm... I like that idea

    -=Jason=-
     
  11. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,019
    Likes Received:
    6,714
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,025
    Current Phone Model:
    Huawei Nexus 6P
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    I have yet to test the theory, but I imagine you could simply remove sound files from the rom install file and place them on the sd. Then, when the rom is installed, none of the sounds are placed in internal memory, AND you've still got them...
     
Search tags for this page

how to import castom ring tone to android system

,
how to import sounds on android system
,
import ringtones android